My first aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bugg

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got my first aquarium (besides my beta tank). It's 10 gallons, I have a whisper filter and gravel. I've had it filled and filtering for 3 days now. I want to do everything right so I don't kill any fish. How long should I wait before I test the water? What fish are the best to start with? (Freshwater) I'm new at this so I'm happy to accept any and all tips and advice. Thank you all in advance :)

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1438029243.133009.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1438029271.287909.jpg
No plants yet, and only 1 decoration, but I've just started.

Do a fish less cycle, get a master test kit also. Very useful and essential to the cycle. Also consider getting a better filter. I personally don't care for whisper filters, though others like them. If you were to upgrade, get a fluval aquaclear 20. Very good flow.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Last edited by a moderator:
I got a whisper filter because that's what my grandma used when she was alive and it worked well for her. Just curious, what do you have against them? I'm new to this all so I'm always learning :)
I didn't realize there was so much to cycling, I thought you just left the tank sit fish less for a week and then you were ready for fish, but that's why I'm here, I wanna learn to do this properly instead of jumping in and killing a bunch of fish.

With whispers, they are designed to use their carriages only and you can't add extra biomedia, and usually tetra cartridges have Carbon which is not needed unless you are taking out chemicals from a tank

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Last edited by a moderator:
Can I still have a healthy tank using this filter? Or do I need biomedia?