Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-23-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New and completely inexperienced

I have a new 10 gal tank my boys got for Christmas. I have no knowledge whatsoever and have a few questions that I pray someone can answer.

1st, I am thinking of cycling my tank by using a friends bacteria bed. How do I need to go about that? Do I just squeeze the bio filter water into a jar and pour it into my tank?

2nd, I would like to purchase Zebra Danios, at least 1 guppie, and at least 1 red dalmatian Molly. How many of this combination could fit comfortably in my tank?

3rd, I want to get at least 2 live plants. Any suggestions for the type of fish I will have?

Thanks!

Old 12-23-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by latashalaine View Post
I have a new 10 gal tank my boys got for Christmas. I have no knowledge whatsoever and have a few questions that I pray someone can answer.

1st, I am thinking of cycling my tank by using a friends bacteria bed. How do I need to go about that? Do I just squeeze the bio filter water into a jar and pour it into my tank?

2nd, I would like to purchase Zebra Danios, at least 1 guppie, and at least 1 red dalmatian Molly. How many of this combination could fit comfortably in my tank?

3rd, I want to get at least 2 live plants. Any suggestions for the type of fish I will have?

Thanks!
Take a piece of filter media and insert it in your filter to cycle. Remember to provide ammonia.
Zebra danios are too active for a ten gallon and mollies too big. I would suggest two male guppies, 1 male platy, and a small school of ember tetras or chili rasboras, no less than five and no more than 7.

Old 12-23-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Welcome to AA!