New to forum, new tank too

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GP4L

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all, first (massive) post!

I've been keeping a few Cichlids for about 6 months, and they have already outgrown their 55 gallon corner tank - I was hoping to get away with this tank for longer, so I could move, and then setup a bigger aquarium, but I didn't luck out.

Anyways here's where I'm at.... This topic has been covered a million times, but it's always very indecisive, a lot of different opinions, and a lot of the same questions asked... So I'll try to make this different. I live in a renovated apartment above a business - who owns my apartment and the two other units on my floor. The building is very old, but very sturdy. Built somewhere between 1905 and 1907 per what my research found. The seconds story might have been an add-on at some point, but I'm not sure.

My floor is scratch proof "wood" flooring (not really sure what it is, but it's scratch proof), and I have no idea what's under it. I tried the stomp test, listening for a boom, or a dull thud - trying to find out if it's concrete or all wood construction. Long story short, I can't tell. It seems like it's concrete because it's a dull thud, and very little "shake" happens, but at the same time, there's a little shake inside my apartment. That could just be because whatever is between the possible concrete, and flooring, could be a wood sheet, maybe for insulation or whatever, and it has a tiny bit of play in it - transfers some of the shock to the walls, ect.. whatever.