New (to me) Marineland 60 Gal Tall Aquarium Set-Up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

red34

Aquarium Advice Newbie
This is my first post here. I am brand new to aquariums... I've wanted one forever and finally took the plunge. I have been keeping a small 6 gal Eclipse System but have been wanting a big one. I found this one on craigslist. It retails for $350 at PetSmart but I paid considerably less 8)

Anyway here it goes:

Marineland 60 Gallon Heartland tank and stand:

img_1031013_0_c35959f3b56404441d6d05ad0e31f3de.jpg

I have since removed the stickers and cleaned the tank up a little more.

img_1031013_1_a1c5f91bb45543602e553c1f5ce8c6cb.jpg

Some plants from Michaels. It's amazing how much cheaper these are than at a pet shop!

img_1031013_2_1eea6929f0f1a110dbfe3937b24227bb.jpg

And a few rocks from a local stone yard (Not washed yet)

img_1031013_3_00960bb429d3b9fec190a4ae0486e204.jpg

In the near future:

This tank did not have the light hoods so I am adding the Sedona Canopy to make it more appealing as a fixture in the room.

237498.jpg

I am also still deciding on filtration. This will be an African Cichlid tank so I'm leaning towards 2 Marineland Emperor 400 filters but that's still up in the air. I also need a heater or two. My Eclipse System pretty much stays between 79-80 on it's own, but I'm not sure how that'll change when it gets cooler outside.

I have added a few pieces of driftwood (Nice big center piece and a really cool piece of grapevine. Planning to use pool filter sand and some crushed shell as substrate.

Anyway, that's what I have going so far.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I've heard not to use floral silk plants because they may have something toxic as they don't have the same standards for safety as aquarium decor.