Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2015, 03:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Question for all

Hi there, fairly new to this and I have a question for you all.

I just set up my 60 gallon tank. I'm in the cycling process right now but im just wondering about adding established media, I currently have an outdoor pond, I'm wondering if I'm able to add some media from that to my new aquarium to help the process along. Any advice? Thanks a bunch
__________________

__________________
Alannahmay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 04:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
stingrays4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 796
Hi and welcome to AA It would help but only partially as the bacteria would be different unless the pond and tank are almost identical in temperatures. I would add a little but only a little.
__________________

__________________
stingrays4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 05:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alannahmay View Post
Hi there, fairly new to this and I have a question for you all.

I just set up my 60 gallon tank. I'm in the cycling process right now but im just wondering about adding established media, I currently have an outdoor pond, I'm wondering if I'm able to add some media from that to my new aquarium to help the process along. Any advice? Thanks a bunch
Under normal circumstances, adding established filter material is a way to get tanks cycled in a hurry. However, because it is a pond outdoors, you are possibly adding many diseases commonly found in ponds via bird droppings and snails so I wouldn't add anything from the pond without it going through a quarantine period first. That would kill off any bacteria you were trying to add so not an option. If you can get some established filter material from a tank you know has been disease free, that would be a better option for you.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Awesome thanks a lot!
__________________
Alannahmay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All my corals are dying all at once! Amysan Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 9 02-05-2012 11:55 AM
Hi all, new to *ALL* of this Lawst Member Introductions 18 11-01-2011 10:07 AM
My fish are all hanging out in the corner of the tank all day dasjestyr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-11-2011 11:18 PM
55 gallon all glass aquarium and all the fixin's for sale t27countryboy Archive 1 05-01-2005 06:11 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.