Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-26-2013, 07:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Upgrading fro 10 gl to 20gl long

I ordered my 20 gallon long and it should be arriving in a few days. Right now we have a 10 gallon. It is stocked (probably overstocked that is why we are getting a bigger tank) with 2 platys, 2 glofish ( I think that is what they are), 2 algae eaters, one looks like a dwarf catfish, the other is long and skinny, one fancy male guppy, and two baby male guppies, one male betta, and one pleco. We used to have a lot more guppies because they kept having babies like crazy! I took all of the females back to the pet shop. Our tank is planted with a gravel substrate. I'm new to the aquarium world and I'm trying to decide if I should switch to sand in my new tank and what I should stock it with. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-656085967.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	172.1 KB
ID:	199907  

Old 09-26-2013, 10:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Welcome to the forum!

Old 09-26-2013, 10:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thank you!
Old 09-27-2013, 09:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

If you go with another substrate, make sure you take a good handful of the gravel in your ten gallon and place it into clean unused pantyhose and tie it off. Place it in the new tank to give it a jump start on bacteria.

If that pleco is a common you might want to save your old ten gallon just for him, they grow fast and grow big.

Always stock about about one inch of fish per gallon of water. Sometimes exceptions can be made, but require over filtration and advanced care.
Old 09-27-2013, 11:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist