Upgrading fro 10 gl to 20gl long

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callylynn

Aquarium Advice Activist
I ordered my 20 gallon long and it should be arriving in a few days. Right now we have a 10 gallon. It is stocked (probably overstocked that is why we are getting a bigger tank) with 2 platys, 2 glofish ( I think that is what they are), 2 algae eaters, one looks like a dwarf catfish, the other is long and skinny, one fancy male guppy, and two baby male guppies, one male betta, and one pleco. We used to have a lot more guppies because they kept having babies like crazy! I took all of the females back to the pet shop. Our tank is planted with a gravel substrate. I'm new to the aquarium world and I'm trying to decide if I should switch to sand in my new tank and what I should stock it with. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Attachments

• image-656085967.jpg
    image-656085967.jpg
    172.1 KB · Views: 129
If you go with another substrate, make sure you take a good handful of the gravel in your ten gallon and place it into clean unused pantyhose and tie it off. Place it in the new tank to give it a jump start on bacteria.

If that pleco is a common you might want to save your old ten gallon just for him, they grow fast and grow big.

Always stock about about one inch of fish per gallon of water. Sometimes exceptions can be made, but require over filtration and advanced care.

Our pleco is still really small. When he starts out growing my tank we will tank him to my sisters boyfriends grandma ( lol that sounds like a lot). She has a 55 gallon and she doesn't have a pleco. Right now he is really happy! He loves staying in the back by our heater