Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-08-2011, 06:14 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Reverting back to the start of my thread on here I mentioned "I'd set a new tank" in actual fact it was new to me but I bought it from a friend who had it running the day I bought it. So the filter had the bacteria in. Sorry I didn't put this. I had my water tested by a fish supplier and was told the levels are safe enough to get at most 5 hardy fish.
Just wanted to leave tank running empty just to be sure. Hopefully this makes better sence now .
Day 2 of fish in, and all doing fine. Water test tomorrow.
Will post everyday with updates.
__________________

__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:27 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimlor123
?.. I had my water tested by a fish supplier and was told the levels are safe enough to get at most 5 hardy fish.
That statement would seem to support the idea that things are not as pristine as you might have been led to believe.

When you get your water tested tomorrow...try to post the actual numbers of ammonia, nitrIte and nitrAte. I'd also highly suggest trying to purchase your own quality liquid test kit.

Hopefully all the filters of the tank stayed wet during the setting up of the tank when you got it from your friend. If not...unfortunately, dry bacteria = dead bacteria.
__________________

__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:35 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
I will post all levels tomorrow. And get a kit
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:39 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimlor123
I will post all levels tomorrow. And get a kit
Sounds good . Most of us here suggest the API Master Test Kit. I would avoid purchasing test strips...you might as well guess what your levels are if you're using them, lol.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:55 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 162
I have to agree with Eco. API freshwater master test kit is the way to go. Just out of interest, is the shop part of a chain? If so, which one?
__________________
Pvtdgrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:07 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvtdgrif
I have to agree with Eco. API freshwater master test kit is the way to go. Just out of interest, is the shop part of a chain? If so, which one?
Have my tests done at the moment by swallow aquatics.
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:44 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Ammonia was 0.
Nitrite 0.
But nitrate were a little high. So going to do 50% water change
Any suggestions?? Other than 50% wc??
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:40 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimlor123
Ammonia was 0.
Nitrite 0.
But nitrate were a little high. So going to do 50% water change
Any suggestions?? Other than 50% wc??
What was the result for nitrate?
__________________
Pvtdgrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:44 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Think it was between 80-100
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:51 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimlor123
Think it was between 80-100
Sorry to say but a 50% PWC will only remove 1/2 of the nitrate. I suggest you do 2x 50% PWCs.

Did you get a test kit?
__________________

__________________
Pvtdgrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 09:41 AM
I'm stumped leikela Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 06-30-2011 07:01 PM
Discovery about python water changer Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 06-28-2011 12:52 PM
Question about water changes Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-26-2011 10:32 PM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.