Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2011, 03:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Water problems......

Hi, am just wondering!! Iv just set a new tank up and the water is really cloudy! I have a 130ltr aqua one tank, filter in the hood one. All running. Am just wondering how long it will take to clear?!?! And is there anything i can do to help it along!! Please help?!?!?
__________________

__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:55 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
it's most likely a bacterial bloom which is good. have you looked at the fishless cycling article yet? also for now on post in the general discussion forum

The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
__________________

__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
I just want to add.. As I have a hood filter, the water doesn't move round a great deal, I have a large filter with power head in other tank and the water moves sooo quick. Do I need the water moving?? Lol
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:03 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
you dont NEED it to, bc some fish would rather it be still like bettas but other fish need more oxygen. to fix this problem just add a bubbler.
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Cool, thanks for the help. How long do I need to let it run without fish? As I waited a day with last tank, done tests and all was perfect. And still got a load of fish I got 1st
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 04:12 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
it's best to do a fishless cycle. read up on that article and it'll tell you just how to do it.
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by allaboutfish
it's best to do a fishless cycle. read up on that article and it'll tell you just how to do it.
Hi, the water has gone a little darker . I did add some filter aid... Dunno if I should of. Any ideas?
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:08 PM   #8
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I would stop adding any chemicals to the water besides a dechlorinator when doing PWCs. The water will clear on it's own. Chemical additives never address the root cause of a problem - they just mask symptoms.

The link that was posted above is a good place to start- you need to understand the nitrogen cycle in your tank, and how that works. There is more to starting up a new tank than filling with water and letting the filter run for a day.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Should I do a part water change? Or just leave it for now??
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:08 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I would leave it for now. How are you planning on cycling the tank?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:12 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
It's without fish, I bought a aqua one 130ltr tank. With filter in hood. I put my old gravel in (that was well washed). And water 3inch below top of tank. So it's a fishless cycle I imagine. My old tank didn't take long
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:20 PM   #12
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Just filling it with water is not cycling. Check out the link that was posted earlier in the thread or the link in my signature block.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:23 PM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
You don't get the concept you need to throw some raw shrimp in there and wait till the readings are ammo 0 nitrites 0 and a showing of nitrates
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.West.
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384 View Post
Just filling it with water is not cycling. Check out the link that was posted earlier in the thread or the link in my signature block.
Live and learn... I had to
__________________
karen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by allaboutfish
You don't get the concept you need to throw some raw shrimp in there and wait till the readings are ammo 0 nitrites 0 and a showing of nitrates
What do you mean by putting raw shrimp in? Will that help? And how do I put them in? And how long for?
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 06:38 PM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
Get some stockings or leggings or whatever you call them and put 2 shrimp in and then it will let out ammonia so you'll be doing a fishless cycle
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 06:39 PM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
And until you get ammo 0 nitrites 0 and nitrates
__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 06:43 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.West.
Posts: 66
basically u r putting rotting stuff in til u get ur tank to be like proper water! Read cycling link.x Getting the good bacteria started..
__________________
karen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 03:20 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: norwich, norfolk
Posts: 89
Does it have to be shrimp?
__________________
Jimlor123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 04:04 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimlor123
Does it have to be shrimp?
No, there are other options. I used bottled ammonia as this allows you to add measured amounts. As ppl above have said, read up on the nitrogen cycle, and don't expect it to be cycled quickly it takes weeks or even longer. But done properly before you get fish will mean the fish get the best start. Without a COMPLETE fishless cycle you are poisoning the fish which will reduce there resistance to disease and in the long term may kill them. I ran my tank cycle for 6 weeks before the levels were 0. Since then my tank has run for 7 months without a single fish death (touch wood).
Hope this helps,
Matt.
__________________

__________________
Pvtdgrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 08:41 AM
I'm stumped leikela Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 06-30-2011 06:01 PM
Discovery about python water changer Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 06-28-2011 11:52 AM
Question about water changes Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-26-2011 09:32 PM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 06:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×