Water quality

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Asri

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
I am new to this aquarium stuff. I jus bought a smal tank around 5 littres with some cuppish and angel fish last sat from the Pasir ris farms. I also bought a 10 dollor air pump.

I used da tap water from my hdb in tampines. Next day all fishes wer dead. I had put enough fud and left the air pump running overnight.

Sunday i bot jus gold fish and also i asked the aquarium shop guy about this and he said i shud use anti chlorine. But still 1 by 1 all fish are dead. I used 2 caps of this anti chlorine for 5 litres water.

Can anyone help and advice on water quality and fish maintenance Pls?

Asri said:
Hi,
I am new to this aquarium stuff. I jus bought a smal tank around 5 littres with some cuppish and angel fish last sat from the Pasir ris farms. I also bought a 10 dollor air pump.

I used da tap water from my hdb in tampines. Next day all fishes wer dead. I had put enough fud and left the air pump running overnight.

Sunday i bot jus gold fish and also i asked the aquarium shop guy about this and he said i shud use anti chlorine. But still 1 by 1 all fish are dead. I used 2 caps of this anti chlorine for 5 litres water.

Can anyone help and advice on water quality and fish maintenance Pls?

Welcome Aboard!

5 liters is only going to be big enough for some shrimp and is way too small for goldfish. Here's a link on cyling your tank without fish.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...ks-for-your-fastest-fishless-cycle/Page1.html