What are these?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fadetoblack06

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I picked up feeder minnows and had this surprise with it but I don't know exactly what they are.

Attachments

• image-2689860201.jpg
    image-2689860201.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 180
  • image-185643761.jpg
    image-185643761.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 158
Heres two more shots. They stood still for a second.

Attachments

• image-3268822191.jpg
    image-3268822191.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 130
  • image-2200533782.jpg
    image-2200533782.jpg
    61.4 KB · Views: 129
I'm no expert but I just picked up a juvenile green terror. Looks alot like that guy there. My guess is it's some kind of south American cichlid

I think it looks like a sunfish. Of coarse I live in Hawaii so I wouldn't know much about fish of the continental U.S.

my guess would also be juvenile blue gill or sunfish...They get big and will eat pretty much anything...ask me how I know

How do you know Sally pu? Was that dinner last night? I think they are too. There's two of them in my tank with the minnow feeders I picked up.

That's a sunfish or "bream" (brim) as we call them, but not a "bluegill." Looks like a redear to me. A bluegill is usually darker and well, blue. Not all blue, but it will have some blue and often orange on it. - however, coming from a farm type environment, who knows? It's def. a sunfish.

Right by the gills it has green in it almost the coloring of a green terror. I know it's not a green terror but just to so it's known what color is there.

FlyAnglerFishKeeper said:
That's a sunfish or "bream" (brim) as we call them, but not a "bluegill." Looks like a redear to me. A bluegill is usually darker and well, blue. Not all blue, but it will have some blue and often orange on it. - however, coming from a farm type environment, who knows? It's def. a sunfish.