Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2014, 12:03 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 186
100% water change question

If i drain all the water out my tank just to clean it and put some overflow boxes in so i can silicone will i have to cycle the tank over again or can i use the bacteria in a bottle when i put the water back in and how long should i have to wait for the silicone to dry before i can put water in
__________________

__________________
ecancienne1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
I'd move all the rock over without taking it out of the water... To a bucket. You'll probably have to cycle again because the sand will be exposed to air. If your gonna use bacteria in a bottle, use DR. Tim's, and you'll still have to cycle but it won't take as log.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
you wont need to cycle it again. the rock holds the majority of the BB, as long as its 100% going into it, and you keep them sufficiently damp, you wont need to cycle again
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Y'all don't see much of me over here but I did keep SW for a few years. :P

You can use a Rubbermaid tub to keep your rock "alive" while you're working on the tank. Drain water out of your tank to the tub, move your rock over, and add your powerheads for circulation.

I've always been told to start over with new bags of sand when swapping tanks (I'd consider this a tank swap, basically). I'm not sure if that's the best way to go about it, but it is what I have done in the past.

I do not envy you this task... good luck with everything.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
anthonygaliazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Québec,Canada
Posts: 174
The tank cycle only applies for liverock? I thought it was all about the water?
__________________
anthonygaliazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
No.. BB grows on your rock and sand... Not in the water... Because then you would have to cycle everytime you do a water change.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 08:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
You. Will probably have a mini cycle if you move the rock as you will be exposing surfaces that were previously covered and covering surfaces that were exposed. Therefore I'd do a couple of water changes but hopefully won't make too much difference. With regards to the sand only need to swap it if your disturbing it as it can build up toxins that are released when stirred but should only be a problem with deep sand beds
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 08:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
you can most def reuse the sand, only thing is you would want to make sure you give it a thorough rinsing before reusing it. (ive reused sand several times with no ill effects) just have to be patient and wash the crap outta it! besides, it gives you something to do while the silicone cures
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 08:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
^^ Thanks for clearing that up. I always started over with sand when I did tank upgrades. Guess I could've saved some money there. :P
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, question, water, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100 percent water change w/discus???? tarpon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 09-28-2011 06:57 PM
Bacteria in water...100% water change? unknownsoldierr Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 01-05-2011 11:27 AM
To water change or not to water change. that is the question Andari Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-05-2007 05:38 PM
100 % water change Steven A Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 03-26-2005 04:13 PM
Doing a 100% water change?? DragonChild Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-09-2004 12:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.