Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
microd0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
20gal to 60gal

I'm trying change tanks and I'm not sure if I can fill 40 gals then add my 20 then stick the filter on or what do I need to do?
__________________

__________________
microd0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
Are you using the sand as well? If so then set your livestock up in a temp place, put the 20g water into a container Switch the sand over, add the old water and new water, get filter going. Use the old media. Get it all to temp and settled then start re adding your live stock
__________________

__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
microd0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
So the extra 40 gallons don't need to build up any type of bacteria the filtera bacteria should be fine?
Just seems Like a lot of new water to old ratio
__________________
microd0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
microd0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
Oh and I also have a few soft corals what's protocal on moving them
__________________
microd0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
amanda_marie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 217
I can't give any advice when it comes to upgrading to a new tank as I've never done so. I would make sure that any new water matches in terms of salinity, temperature, and other parameters.

However, I do know that the beneficial bacteria does not live in the water column. The bacteria is present on surfaces; rock, sand, etc.

I don't know what you're doing in terms of the substrate but I know you would need to be careful if moving sand. It would depend a lot on how long the tank containing the old sand was set up prior, how deep, cleaning practice, etc. because it would harbor nutrients that could cause issues. I think its common practice to use new sand. That would deplete some of your beneficial bacteria, though I'd say you could seed with some of your old sand to help.

Also, depending on your stock, amount of live rock, and any other surfaces that would harbor bacteria that probably wouldn't be a big deal.

I'm sure someone with more experience with saltwater and upgrading a tank will come along and explain better.
__________________
amanda_marie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
microd0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
That helps. The tank is fairly new maybe 2 months had the sand a little less than a month.
__________________

__________________
microd0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.