Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-02-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

29 gal. FOWLR Bio Cube in the planning stages

I'm new to the aquarium world. I've never owned a fish before so I'm looking for a lot of advice on sw fowlr tanks. Any and all advise will be greatly appreciated.

I've been researching the 29 gallon bio cube because of the square shape (pretty much all I have room for) and because it looks very simple to run.

Please let me know your opinions on he bio tube. Pros and cons. Also if it easier to run and set up than a normal 29 gallon tank.

Thank u

Old 11-03-2011, 12:17 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I have a biocube! It's great! You might as well do a reef with it because the stock lights give to a lot of options with corals

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 08:48 AM   #3

I'm a little nervous to have coral in a tank because I'm new at this and I'm assuming coral takes a lot more care than a fowlr. I figured I'd get my feet wet with the fowlr and maybe move to coral after a while.

How much time out of the week is dedicated to your aquarium? How often do you do water changes? Are there daily jobs in keeping up with it?

I'm trying to figure out if I have enough time in the week to commit to the fish and tank.
Old 11-03-2011, 09:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

I also have the 29g biocube and enjoy it immensely.

I spend maybe an hour a week on it total. That includes the water changes of 3g a week and changing out the filter floss every few days. I usually scrape any algae from the corners every week or two takes another 10-15 minutes.