3 mystery items on my live rock.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Travis

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all,
I have these three mystery items that have me in a huff...any help is greatly appreciated as I am fairly new to the hobby. Ive outlined the items in question in the pics...thanks
travis

First pic looks like the beginnings of some macro algae.

second pic looks like some zooanthids or button polyps

third pic is some coral skeletons, most likely Favites or Porites spp.

don't give up on those skeletons! I had a batch somewhat similar to those on a small piece of LR. a few weeks after adding some PC lights to my tank... they came to life :!: Short grey fleshy tenticles with white spots have come out. Those skeletons may yet be alive!

Kevin, given your best guess on what they are, what kind of light would they need?

Thanks for the replies...My only concern with pic three is that the two items just appeared two days ago. It is very difficult to see them clearly in the pic but they look like long thorns and look to be very sharp. Secondly I just took another peek and they seem to be growing longer fairly quickly....the bigger of the two is now about 1/2 an inch long.
This is a newly cycled tank and I was a little dissappointed with the live rock for the first few weeks....however its seems that after the water cycled things are beginning to get pretty interesting on these rocks.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.

lol....I wish I could use it!!! Im doing all I can to keep my tank in the high 70's!!!