30 gallon stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish4ever

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I've had a 30 gallon for about 4 months now so far I have a true perv clown , bangai cardinal, fire fish and an assortment of polyp corals
I'd like to add
Fox face
Long nose butterfly
Yellow tang
And my fav a green mandarin
Ii know they are all a bit big but if my filtration is good coul they live ?

I don't think you could do them all I am afraid, but if you have got good filtration you could do one maybe? How old is the tank? The mandarin will work if you have an established tank. As for the others def not the tang. Butterflies are for advanced aquarists and will nip at corals. It is a reef tank? I have no experience with the fox face but on paper they require bigger tanks :)

The tank is 3-4 months and has about 40-50 pods on glass daily and the long nose is supposed to be a beginner butterfly

I'm sorry but I have a 34g tank too and it looks like only the mandarin can thrive in your tank, others are for 100g+ tank..

If you look at YouTube vid there is 30 gallon tanks with yellow tangs sailfins and fox faces so what are they doing that keeps them alive?

I mean at least 75g tank, they can reach sizes to 8 inches on adult stage...they'll get stress out in a small tank and will easily get disease when stressed..

Just because you can, doesn't mean you should! I think you might find that people who keep massive fish in tiny tanks doesn't last long term. +1 to the above, small quarters lead to stress which leads to disease. Save your money and the fishes health, choose a fish that can live its life long and happy in your tank :)

We have a 100 gallon we are about to so if needed once cycles complete I can add a fish to it I'm looking at the fox face but I've read they are reef safe with caution.