42g - FO or FOWLR?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SHARPiE

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to the marine game. I have done lots of research online, at marine fish stores and using books. I have a well established 10g FO percula clown tank. But I have a few questions specific to my new project.

I just bought a 42g AquaOne AquaStye AR-850 Tank (above tank open filtration bed, wet + dry trickle system with spraybar, carbon, cotton, sintered glass and power head)
Filter Flow Rate: 528g/hr
Light Wattage: 2 x 30in 25W 1 x 23.5in 20W

I have an inch of aragonite coral sand at the bottom.

Six months down the track when I can afford a protein skimmer and better lighting, I want corals and anemones. But for now I think I'll go FO with fake coral, that is, unless LR (or even dead rock) can survive without a protein skimmer and extra lighting.

Questions:

1 - Will the current filter & light be able to cope with live or even dead rock?
2 - In the interim, is it worth going for fake coral if the filter & light can't cope with live/dead rock?
3 - What is the difference between cycling FO vs FOWLR (any links?) I have successfully cycled fish only marine and tropical tanks before.
4 - Should I add more sand if I go LR?
5 - What are the best starter reef fish?
6 - Are these suitable for a fish only tank which will be converted to coral?

Thanks in advance for your input and help.

I will post progress photos if I am able.

1. Lighting is not important in the cycle process. I am not familiar with that specific filter, but you should be good. The spray bar may sauce quite a bit of salt creep.
2. Fake corals are a personal preference, I don't see a lot of folks using them. I like to use 75% base rock to 25% LR to cut on costs.
3. No difference, simply add 1 unseasoned, raw jumbo shrimp per 30 gallons for a humane, fishless cycle.