72g fluval, need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dillon207

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to salt water. I got a 29g bio cube about 6 months ago and have been trying to make that into a reef aquarium. I am learning as I go. So far it's going great I'm addicted. So I decided I needed another tank because not to much room in my 29g. I will try to get some pics up so you all can judge how well my tank is doing.

image-2354984635.jpg

image-352230197.jpg

image-4137985124.jpg

So i bought a 72g fluval tank. I want to go fish only for now. What I was hoping to get from the members here is stocking advice, filter set ups, and anything in general that I need to know. I know that's not very helpful but that's I I have for now. The tank came with a fluval 405 filter. Is that going to work? So far I have 100 pounds of live sand and water in the tank. I was getting ready to put a few damsels in to start the cycle. Unless there is a better way, that what the lfs told me to do. I want some really awesome fish but not really sure what will work with what? Any help will be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you

Go fish less for the cycle. Just put a cocktail shrimp in and let it rott. This will provide your ammonia source. As far as dAmsels go they are a pretty fish but turn very aggressive as they get bigger. Once they are in they are hard to get out! I have always wanted one but have restrained myself due to that fact.

If u decide to get a few damsels throw them in the sump if you don't want to keep them that way you don't have to tear your rock work apart to get them out I have one in my 90 and imma leave her I'm going Australian reef so she'll be fine and if something eats her no big deal they cost $3