Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2010, 06:15 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fastfossil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 285
Bad news but for when you do carry on I watching
Good luck
__________________

__________________
I intend to live forever. So far, so good.k:
55 Gallon build from scratch
http://i1120.photobucket.com/albums/...l/SANY0026.jpg
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ld-136264.html
Fastfossil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 08:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
reefdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LittleRock
Posts: 1,033
Srry to hear that. I knw it sucks when ppl say this but just be positive something good will come!!!!!
__________________

__________________
reefdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 01:07 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ChizerBunoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 648
Now I know why your tank is on hold. That sucks and I'm sorry to hear about it.

The other end of the electrical hook up goes straight to your electrical box?
__________________
Journal
ChizerBunoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 03:30 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChizerBunoi View Post
Now I know why your tank is on hold. That sucks and I'm sorry to hear about it.

The other end of the electrical hook up goes straight to your electrical box?
I have 2 ways to setup my electrical right now either run it right back to my House Panel or Put a plug end on the cabtire and plug it into the wall.

So for right now its got a 15amp Plug end on the cabtire and goes to a wall outlet. Once I get the setup going I will be running the cabtire back to my panel and going to a 20A Single Pull Breaker. Only reason I have the plug end on right now is because I dont have the skimmer, pumps etc on there so I dont know how much draw I will be actually using. But pumps are motors so they will have a current spike on start up which is why I plan on using a 20A breaker dedicated for the tank itself.


Good news is though I put in 10Gal of water to the tank and the silicone is holding so far, I plan to go with 10gal a day for a stress test on the tank and then leave the tank for a week with 75gal in it to see if any seals break, then drain it while I wait for income/parts
__________________
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 10:27 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ChizerBunoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 648
So you cut the wire off the surge bar and connected it directly to the 15amp receptacles that piggy back each other? Your devices plug directly into your 15amp receptacles?
__________________
Journal
ChizerBunoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:46 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChizerBunoi View Post
So you cut the wire off the surge bar and connected it directly to the 15amp receptacles that piggy back each other? Your devices plug directly into your 15amp receptacles?
nope i went out and bought a 15amp plug from home depot to put on the other end of the cabtire thats the yellow thing in the first few picture its a plug end.
__________________
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:36 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
d.dog_fletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ottawa illinois
Posts: 53
looks like its going to be a nice set up
__________________
life is what you make it . so make your fishes life's the best you can
d.dog_fletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:48 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
water has been going into it about 10gal a day and well so far so good its been holding steady
__________________
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 12:54 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
ok I need help with the sump/refug for this tank the stand is being a pain in my backside...

Heres some pictures of the stand to get an idea of what I mean.

The stand has a divider in the middle with very limited room for anything so I was looking at using maybe the EShoppe sump (model and size RS-75(18" x 10" x 16"))

But then maybe we could do a dual sump? I just dont know...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00030-20101124-2141.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	111.5 KB
ID:	26184   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00032-20101124-2142.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	26185  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00031-20101124-2141.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	111.0 KB
ID:	26186  
__________________
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2010, 12:57 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Magma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
Heres some more details I was thinking of using the Eshopps sump, skimmer, overflow but I would like to have a place to grow cheato and have more LR/sand there...

So here is a picture of the space I have...
14 deep MAX
26.5 high MAX
20 wide MAX

but I figure to fit it all in I would need to lose at least an inch of all that maybe 2 so workable space is more like

12 deep
24 high (maybe less so I can include the plumbing easyer)
18 wide (to allow for door clearance)


Eshopp Sump Size
18" x 10" x 16"

Skimmer
Diameter 3"
height 19"
Foot print 9" x 4"

Overflow
6" x 3.25" x 10"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tankstand.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	26187  
__________________

__________________
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
75g, 75gal, build, fowlr

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 120 FOWLR (corals later) build... sdergar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 10-29-2010 11:31 AM
update on my 75gal fowlr eric faatz Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 04-18-2010 12:48 PM
My 75gal fowlr tank eric faatz Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 4 04-01-2010 07:37 PM
My first 55G FOWLR BUILD dhemp34 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 46 11-27-2009 12:25 AM
Lighting Question for 75gal FOWLR gfishguy56 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 12-17-2004 10:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.