A real beginner! -Help! any advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SENSEI

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone!
I am completely new to this. I have never owned any type of saltwater tank and decided it's time!
to make the long story short, I jumped the gun and bought me a 90g tank (48x18.5x25.5 with overflow) w/stand & canopy, a protien skimmer (AquaEurousa for upto 135g), don't have the sump yet cuz not sure wat size to get, pump, heater, 48" 260w PL light, and 2 bags of 20lb live sand(is that enough?), 50lbs. of liverock, and 90g of ocean water.... now what? lol.
can anybody please help and tell me my next move? would really appreciate it!

...Decided to join forums and ask for help cuz my lfs, jus wants my money. lol

Well, that actually sounds like a decent start. you might need more sand...but that is up to you IMO. Put it all in your tank. Place the sand in your tank, place the bags ontop of the sand, and gently pour your water in. This will help with it being cloudy so you can atleast see what you are doing lol.

Secondly, the rule of thumb is 1-1.5 lbs of live rock per gallon. So, you will be needing more LR. Just find yourself a good deal somewhere, if it be off line, local tearing down his tank...whatever.

Take the next month to research. You'll be cycling your tank during this time so it isn't like you will be able to add anything until that is over with. During this time, you NEED to get a test kit. I'd recommend an API test kit. Strip tests are inaccurate. A refractometer will also help you with your water tests.

There is a wealth of knowledge in this forum. Read around and feel free to ask.

Welcome to AA.