Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-21-2006, 11:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Adding LR after fish during Cycle

Im new to this and just have a quick question. Would it be a good idea to add LR to a 1 1/2 week old new setup with 4 damels and 3 hermit crabs. Keep in mind that as of right now I have a brown algae problem and am having trouble getting rid of it. Thanks a lot for the input..............

Old 05-21-2006, 11:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

That depends if its cured or not, if its not cured your tank will re-cycle and you will get spikes in your water. But your tank isnt even cycled the first time yet....

Old 05-22-2006, 01:37 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
The damsels might not make it through the cycle. I would suggest a fishless cycle.

Quote:
Keep in mind that as of right now I have a brown algae problem and am having trouble getting rid of it.
Do you have a test kit? If so, what are the readings?
How much/what do you feed the tank?
How long are you running your lights? Is the tank near a window?

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 01:50 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Brown diatoms and such are expected during a cycle, they will go away on their own after the cycle is complete. An article on cycling your tank without the use of fish can be found at http://testing.aquariumadvice.com/ar...q=2&fldAuto=15

The damsels may/maynot make it, the crabs mostl likely will not as they are sensitive to water quality issues.
Old 05-22-2006, 02:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak