Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-23-2006, 01:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Advice for 29 gallon. . .

I currently have freshwater but I am new to saltwater and have a few questions.

So I went to a bigger pet supply store for a 55 gallon tank. They only had one in stock and it ended up having a chip where the side joint. The sales person told me it should be "fine" and shes had hers for years with a chip in it with no problems because it wasent through the silicon. I didnt risk it so I bought a 29 gallon aquarium. ("all glass aquarium" brand).

I was planing on going lr. But my lfs is charging $9 a pound. So at 1.5 pounds per gallon i am at over $300 in just lr. So I may go fish only with bio filtration. But can I do a live sand bed without lr?

I was thinking of going hid lighting. (hid projection glass top) (6500, or 8000) I have both systems lying around but dont know which would be best. For lr / fish

cbseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 07:32 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

First, I'd hold out for a 55g if that's what you really wanted. The lighting will cost you more for a reef on it (as opposed to a 29g), but you'll run out of tank real soon with the smaller and wish you did have the 55g.

Is the chip on the outside corner - in the glass only? It may be worth another look. Hard to say w/out seeing it.

On the rock, 1.5 times 55 is $495 - - but you can consider 25 lbs of LR and 25 lbs of base rock that will become LR in no time. You can add pcs of rock here and there with new coral as it'll be fully cured that way. I wouldn't worry about jumping in with the whole 1.5 lbs right away. Read up on Cycling a tank in the articles section at this site (above). That'll help you think better about start-up.