Advice for Upsizing my SW Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Purevil21

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am relatively new to saltwater fish, I started my first tank a year ago. I have a 35 gallon hexagon tank with 30 lbs of live rock, two percula clowns, one orange conical star fish, and several hermits and snails. I am using a magnum 350 canister filter, and have a small set of power compact lights.

I have decided to upsize to a 72 gallon bowfront with an overflow and sump. Got a great deal on it, but now I am not sure how to move everything over safely. I don't want to endanger my livestock, but their tank is not going to suffice much longer, the pump is leaking slightly and I broke the glass top doing a water change so now the light is rigged up, but a lot of light isn't making it into the water. I was not sure if I could just mix up 35 gallons of salt water in the new tank and add the 35 gallons from the old one, and just leave the livestock in a 5 gallon bucket until the pump runs for an hour or so to settle things out. Does anyone have any ideas?

If u transfer over everything including all the water then mix old water with some new then transfer all the old sand and live rock... And u test saliniity temp ph u might be okay but it still is risky... If u can find a way safer bet is to setup new tank put some old sand in and some live rock to seed the tank and biospira and let the tank cycle, until water tests out perfect may take a week or two... Then move livestock over and acclimate them like new fish... Thats the the safest wAy...