Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-15-2006, 12:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Ahhh quartine tank disaster help!!!!

Ok so I decided to try out the QT tank for my new fish...and I don't think it is doing them any good...I just tested the water and since I have added them yesterday the ammonia went up to 0.50 PPM!

I am thinkin of taking them out and acclimating them to my main tank tonight and putting them in there, as the parameters there are fine.

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
mdjxt39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:39 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Did your QT complete it's cycle?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 11:06 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
You need to change the water more often in a quarantine tank. The tank is normally much smaller then what they will end up in. YOu can't just toss them in and forget about it. You might find this useful:
http://www.fantasyreef.com/showthread.php?t=571
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 12:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
To set up the QT tank I used water from my display which did go through a cycle and They had only been in the tank for 36 hours and it shot up from 0 to 0.50 PPM.

Should I just plan on doing daily water changes with the QT for 2 weeks?
__________________
mdjxt39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 12:07 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
How big is the QT and how many fish are in there? Keep in mind, the size and amount/size of fish will affect the parameters. I would watch the water and definitely do some PWCs.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 12:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Only 10 gallons, I have 2 fish in there...one is 3" and the other is 1.5".

I just finished mixing a barrel of saltwater how long do you think I should aerate it before adding it to the tank? Keeping in mind that the tank conditions are not good and I am running a maxi jet powerhead with the air hose attached to it (in the newly mixed water barrel).
__________________
mdjxt39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 12:41 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Right now, I would be more concerned with the QT's parameters. I would suggest, match the temp and salinity (maybe even drop it a little bit) to reduce the stress of the fish, get the QT as stable as possible. I wouldn't be really concerned about areation ATM. Of course, if anyone else has input that would be great.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 02:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 320
just using water from a cycled tank will do almost nothing for you. what you really need is a physical surface for the de-nitrifying bacteria to live on. in your main tank that physical surface is your rock and your filter media.

i will assume your QT is bare bottom, with some pvc fittings for fish to hide in, and a basic HOB filter. if that is the case, you NEED to ensure that your filter media is colonized with de-nitrifying bacteria BEFORE you add your fish to the QT. The way to do this is to either keep a filter cartridge in the main tank (or sump) and pull it out when you need to do your QT.... or to provide some live rock or something in your QT.

if you cant keep a QT filter cartridge in your main tank or sump then you can cycle your QT the same as your main tank, and after the cycle is done, you will need to "feed" your QT to maintain some ammonia and nitrite for the bacteria. feeding your QT can be as simple as tossing in a few flakes of food a couple times a week... just something to decay and feed the bacteria.

Keep in mind that if you put live rock in your QT, and then you medicate your QT, you can never put that live rock back into the main tank, as it may leach copper into your tank from the medication (killing your inverts).

~mike
__________________
55gal FOWLR,
DIY stand and Hood,
AquaC Remora,
Coralife Lunar Aqualight (4x65W),
60 LB Hirocks Base Rock, 40 LB LR 50/50 Keys/Gulf
150 LB Playsand (~3-4 in DSB)
2 x Blood Red Fire Shrimp, 2 x Cleaner Shrimp
2 x Black and White Percula Clown, 1 x Orange Spotted Blenny, 1 x Red Stripe High Fin Goby
mp3z24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 02:12 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
you NEED to ensure that your filter media is colonized with de-nitrifying bacteria BEFORE you add your fish to the QT.
Good catch, sorry I missed that.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 09:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
I did a 50% water change today and I get home from work tonight to have the tank still at 0.50 PPM for Ammonia!

What should I do to get this situation under control? I am really thinking of just putting them into my display tank.
__________________

__________________
mdjxt39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Tank Disaster! GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 05-20-2006 03:12 PM
Tank disaster dralarms Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 14 11-11-2004 08:02 PM
Tank disaster indy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 09-12-2004 05:45 AM
quartine tank question rodney10954 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 10-17-2003 05:57 AM
Quartine Question kurt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-20-2003 08:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.