Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2011, 06:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Airstones...

Hi, sorry if this is a very stupid question....

I have a 75G SW FOLR with a 30G sump. My question is, do I need to have an Airstones in the display tank or would it be adequate to just have one in the sump? Currently I have them in both. The only reason I wold like to remove the one from the DT is due to the amount of salt it creates on the tank & wall. I am just using the classic regular Airstones, would the ceramic ones create less "splashing"?

Thanks!

Tom

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nxb161's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 737
Yeah, take the airstone out, salt creep is a pain! I don't have an airstone in my sump either, but how the overflow goes down, it does in such a fashion that it aerates as it flows into the sump.
__________________

__________________
~Nick
nxb161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Awesome thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium
__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you will need to have flow in the tank though. you know this, right? you will need some power heads to move water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:45 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Yes i have two power heads along with four outlets from the sump so there is a lot of flow, and i have kept the air-stone in my sump section.

if I have time tomorrow maybe I'll post a detailed diagram of my tank to get advice on my setup/ sump media.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium
__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:00 PM   #6
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
You don't need an airstone at all. I suggest taking it out. It is doing absolutely nothing for your tank. No benefits.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 58
I don't think you need an airstone. You already have a lot of flow in your tank.
__________________

__________________
duncantse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
airstone, stone

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airstones Pleco Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 08-27-2006 07:25 PM
airstones kmlong Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-04-2004 02:16 AM
algae and airstones kmlong Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-28-2004 11:23 PM
airstones fish_newbie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-26-2004 12:26 PM
airstones.... saltcreep1025 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-25-2003 06:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.