Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2013, 06:03 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Then check local fish stores.


Also, can you post a pic of the algae? You say rust color. Could be diatoms.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:38 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Nutrients can come from overfeeding or your source water. Something that you are adding to the tank and/or not removing is feeding any nuisance algae.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:20 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
POLARBEAR0871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,169
Well idk cuz when I cut the light it goes away but as soon as I turn it on it starts to grow again
__________________
POLARBEAR0871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:39 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLARBEAR0871 View Post
Well idk cuz when I cut the light it goes away but as soon as I turn it on it starts to grow again
How high off the water is the light it maybe to low over the water.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:03 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
POLARBEAR0871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,169
It a good two-three inches
__________________
POLARBEAR0871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:30 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
What lights are you using? I use Ai mix with ATI t5's and I keep my lights 12" off the water line. Your lights may be to strong
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:13 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
POLARBEAR0871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,169
They're just standard blue lights I bought originally for freshwater but I was told they'd be fine for the tank
__________________
POLARBEAR0871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 05:48 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 51
. Lights on to long, to much food going into tank, or not using ro water. I would say you are just cycling since you just bought the tank.
__________________
Codyphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 05:55 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
POLARBEAR0871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,169
No I've had the tank goon for weeks bow
__________________
POLARBEAR0871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 05:58 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 51
Weeks is not enough to cycle. I had a mini cycle 3 months into my tank. Cyno everywhere reduced lights, water changes every other day, and feed less. Cleared up after about two weeks. Also RO water will save you some headache.
__________________

__________________
Codyphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.