Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-18-2013, 01:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
landshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 150
Ammonia Escalating

If my ammonia level were to get too high should I take my 2 clownfish out of the tank before I put a buffer in there to bring it down???
__________________

__________________
landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark View Post
If my ammonia level were to get too high should I take my 2 clownfish out of the tank before I put a buffer in there to bring it down???
How high is the ammonia? If ammonia is elevated, you should do a PWC, not add buffer. Buffer will help the pH, not lower ammonia.
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
And what is bringing the ammonia up? Are you doing a fish-in cycle?
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
And what is bringing the ammonia up? Are you doing a fish-in cycle?
He has two clowns in the tank..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
I saw that he had two clowns. If the tank is cycled, there should not be any ammonia. If he is cycling his tank with the clowns as his ammonia source, then that is one scenario. If the tank was cycled already and he is getting ammonia, then something else is going on.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
landshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 150
Been measuring my ammonia.everyday...its not high...I was just asking for a worse case scenerio....Dont want my clownfish to die. I guess you could say Im cycling my tank with my 2 clowns in it.....Just wanted to know if I should take them out if it happens to get too high....
__________________
landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
If your tank is not cycled than you might lose your Clown fish. I would suggest taking back to the pet store and ask for some credit. You might not get the full amount back but you will get something.

After you get your fish back to the store, go to the grocery store and buy some uncooked shrimp and and clean panty hose. Put shrimp into hose and put into your tank to let nature take it's course. Do some water testing and in three to six weeks your tank should be fully cycled. It could take longer, but once your tank has 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite you should be good to go. Good luck!!
__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
landshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 150
Ok baron...I snagged my wifes new stocking ,put some dead shrimp in it,,,should I leave my water filter running and once its recycled will I have to do this again in this same tank?I left my live rock in the tank and took out the Clownfish.
__________________
landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
Your tank should be up and running with everything running as if you had fish in it when you cycle your tank. Once your tank is cycled you should be fine, you shouldn't have to cycle your tank again.

When you cycle your tank your letting the good bacteria build up on the live rock and sponges of your filter. You should never replace a sponge in your filter unless it's about to disintegrate, at which point you just put another sponge in in front for a few weeks to let the new sponge get seeded by the old. Your carbon filter is fine for keeping the water clean, but you need some kind of sponge for your good Bactria to cling on too. that is behind your carbon filter. Only the carbon filter should be replaced every few weeks. You clean the sponge with old tank water, just a quick swish in the bucket of old tank water you took out of the tank that day to do a PWC. Never squeeze the sponge out, just enough swishing to get the big stuff off. Than put back into your filter.

Again when it comes to cycling your tank, you are letting the ammonia build up, which in turn turns into nitrites and than nitrates. You want 0 ammonia and 0 nitrites. Once your test read that (Should take 3 to 6 weeks), do a 90% water change and add back your Clowns. The good Bactria is in the rocks and sand and filter, so the water change is not going to effect the Bactria colonies.

The only reason I said to use the stocking is because the shrimp is going to get nasty. I didn't use the stocking and I nearly puked when I pulled it out with my hands. :-p Also if you have anything in the tank that is alive they might die. So good luck, cycling the tank is never fun, but once it's cycled it will save you a lot of money and fishes lives. Oh and while the tank is cycling, don't do water changes!

What do you mean again in the same tank? Once the tank is cycled the Bactria colonies should be stable unless you do something. You could add too much fish at once and shock the bio-load and it will do a mini cycle, but once you cycle the tank it should be cycled. Just go slow and add fish in slowly!! Once you have it cycled, 2 Clowns should be fine. My first fish were 2 clowns and nothing spiked for me. You should wait at least 2 weeks after before putting any more fish in!! Every fish you put into your tank, you want to wait at least a week to add another so the good Bactria can catch up.

Just make sure any fish you buy you do your research on before putting into your 29 gallon tank. I have a 29 gallon tank and only have 4 fish in it, not a lot!! You can do maybe more depending on the fish you get, but not much more.

I did this only once and what I told you is my experience! I hope more people chip in and help. I have had good results and no fish death due to poor water conditions. I had one jump out. :-/ Only death I had. Other than that, 2 and half months and no issues.
__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
landshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 150
Thanks a million...I highly appreciate the advice!!!
__________________

__________________
landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.