Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-06-2004, 03:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Base Rock

I want to set up a 45 gal. tank as a FOWLR. I really dont have the $$$$ for 50 or so lbs. of LR so I was wondering if I could buy 25lbs. LR and seed 25lbs. base rock with that 25lbs LR? I am brand new to salt water and have no idea. Will NO lighting be fine for this FOWLR tank?

Thanks,
Amber

Old 02-06-2004, 04:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

Yes to both questions.

It will probably be several months before you start seeing coralline algae on the baserock, but a lot of people who can't afford to go with all live rock take the approach you suggested.

NO lighting is fine for a FOWLR... it's when you get into wanting to keep corals that better lighting is required.

HTH

"Expecting the world to treat you fairly because you are a good person is a little like expecting the bull not to attack you because you are a vegetarian." - Dennis Wholey
kreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 05:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

You will see little to no coralline growth w/ N/O lighting, but it wont hurt anything.

Squishy

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 06:30 PM   #4

What can you use for base rock what is best? Are there some definite "no no's" Will any rock do?

Thanks,
Amber
Old 02-06-2004, 07:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist

check out www.hirocks.com, good prices and supposedly the quality of rock is real good. I ordered 60 lbs for $85 including shipping it should be getting here any day now. They also sell 30 lb boxes, or if you really want alot of rock a 1 TON box haha.
Old 02-07-2004, 01:17 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve