Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-14-2017, 10:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Beginner to saltwater aquariums

I recently setup my first planted freshwater aquarium. So far everything is going great thanks to many members of this forum. Iv always wanted a saltwater tank, but my knowledge was lacking. Over the past 6 months I have learned a lot regarding aquarium keeping "freshwater". I think it's time for me to start gathering equipment needed for a saltwater tank. I'm thinking I want to go with a 90g tank but open to ideas for what works best.

Iv been doing some research and it looks like an RO system would be my first purchase. I have fairly good tap water, so it's been used for my freshwater tank with no issues "yet".

Soooooo, I'm a newbie. What can some of you veterans advice?

Thanks
PJ

Old 02-14-2017, 11:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Saltwater tanks are less forgiving than freshwater, patience is key. I've learned the hard way that you should buy good quality equipment from the beginning even though it costs more upfront if you buy something cheap now it will cost more to keep upgrading later. Having said that, set a budget and stick with it, the saltwater world can get very expensive very fast. Think about what you want to keep live stock wise and plan around that. Is there a specific type of fish you want, if so what are its needs. How about coral, what types of coral, what are their needs. I think a 90 gallon tank is a great size but does it match your live stock?

I'm certainly not an expert but I've learned a few things from my mistakes.

Old 02-14-2017, 11:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeridiaRose View Post