Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2007, 03:37 PM   #11
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hara
I would also suggest lights off (totally) for several days to a week.
This was an excellent idea also. My only suggestion is that if you dont reduce your bio load or find a way to combat it then you`ll most likely continue with algea problems. I hope all goes well.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 04:48 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 17
OK. I went to LFS and get an AP test kit ( they dont carry the Salifert kit), this kit includes tests for Calcium, Kh, Nitrate and phosphate. And the results are as follows:

Calcium: 520
Kh: 11
Phosphate : 2ppm
Nitrate: 10ppm

I am a little confused about the Nitrate. I did the test with the new solution just bought and it read 10ppm and with the old solution bought about a year ago from the same brand and it read 20ppm. Why's the difference ? is there an expired date for these test kits ????

In addition, I also test for phosphate the fresh water that I use for topping off and found out that it contains 1 ppm. The fresh water is coming out from the filter unit that I bought for drinking, the picture of this unit is enclosed, the labels on it are Pre filter, Post filter and Carbon filter. Is this what you call "RO/DI" unit, if it is not, can it be converted into an RO/DI ??? Thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg filter_192.jpg (29.2 KB, 430 views)
__________________

__________________
topgundcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 10:43 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Your ca is a bit high, 400-420 ppm is more ideal. Do you add ca to your tank?

I've used AP for over 10 years and have noticed that after a while the no3 test does read higher over a year or so. I have read that they have a life span of around 3 years but we have no idea how long they sit on a shelf at the lfs before we buy it.

Your po4 level is very high and you need to get it to 0 ppm. A PhosBan Reactor along with PhosBan/pump can get it to 0 within a week IME.

You have a RO filtration unit. RO water filters most harmful elements out of tap but does little to remove po4. You can get a DI Add-On Kit for around $50 which will make your water pure.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:26 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 17
Yes, you are completely right, I did add B-Ionic Calcium buffer, trying to get Coral Algae to grow. That leads to another question: How do I lower the Calcium level to 400 - 420 ppm ???

Since DI Add-On Kit cost $50, I was looking at the whole RO/DI unit on EBAY
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Reef-6st-100...QQcmdZViewItem
for around $100. Is this unit good enough in your opinion ???

With Phosban Reactor, can I put Phosban and Kent Marine Nitrate Sponge together in there to reduce both Nitrate & Phosphate ?

Thanks again, You guys are A-1
__________________
topgundcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:33 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I bought that exact RO/DI, make sure you get the one that comes with the spare filters/membranes. Take plenty of pics and let me know how to set it up! LOL! I tried this past weekend, but wasn't feeling too great, so I didn't put much effort into it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:11 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Just doing regular pwc weekly will lower your ca levels naturally.

Most from ebay are fine. Only a tds meter knows for sure if that unit is good or not.

The Reactor is just a holder of any media so yes you can combine all media types without issue.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 11:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 17
OK, I got the Phosban Reactor, it's been in the sump for couple of days now, I hope it will reduce the phosphate level to 0 ppm.

Lights off since last posted except when feeding.

Roka64, I finally decided to get another unit, it costs $115 but it has dual outputs (for both drinking, Aquarium and Reef), I also bought a floater for topping off, $16.50. So I guess you have to install your Unit yourself.

Here's the picture of the unit if anybody is planning to buy one.
http://cgi.ebay.com/WaterGeneral-RO6...QQcmdZViewItem
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6100di2_100.jpg (60.3 KB, 11 views)
__________________
topgundcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 02:00 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Misawa Japan
Posts: 253
Send a message via Yahoo to stevefromga2000
I know this is totally different from what you are talking about, but I wanted to know how much your emperor angel cost? I was at my LFS today, and they had one but it was just under $100. I thought the fish looked awesome, but a little too high for me right now.
__________________
stevefromga2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 02:22 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgundcp

I am a little confused about the Nitrate. I did the test with the new solution just bought and it read 10ppm and with the old solution bought about a year ago from the same brand and it read 20ppm. Why's the difference ? is there an expired date for these test kits ????

yes they have a life span of 1 year . and then it always shows 20ppm
had the same prob with the tetra test kits

hope that helps
__________________
taosku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 04:35 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevefromga2000
I know this is totally different from what you are talking about, but I wanted to know how much your emperor angel cost? I was at my LFS today, and they had one but it was just under $100. I thought the fish looked awesome, but a little too high for me right now.
I only paid $39.99 + Tax for it, so it's roughly $43. I am from the Bay Area (San Francisco). This is the only place that I find the prices are reasonable, some other place wants $60 for it
__________________

__________________
topgundcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blood

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goldfish has bloody vent {help} Phoenixphire55 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 9 02-20-2008 06:58 PM
Bolivian ram w/ sore bloody anus monlov Cichlid Discussion 9 07-09-2006 06:53 PM
Help, Tank of Death.. Warning Few Pictures are Bloody ACoS Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 07-27-2005 02:21 PM
Bloody Annoying! gear-head Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 09-02-2004 11:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.