"Brazilian Dragon/White Spotted" Moray Info?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SkinnyPete

Aquarium Advice Freak
Muraena pavonina - sometimes called Brazilian Dragon or White Spotted Moray...

Anyone have any info on this eel? They are rarely found in the aquarium trade. A lfs has one available. I have a lot of experience with eels, and I know that every creature is different. But, I can't find any general info about this guy online. Max size? Temperament? Any help would be appreciated. He'd be housed in a 210 FOWLR with medium sized fish...

porc puffer
pair of blue throat triggers
large angel
2-3 Henis (bannerfish)
Naso Tang

Would love to grab him, but not sure about aggression.

There isn't alot of info about these eels. I did find that they are very simular to the jeweled eel in behavior. The whitespotted can attain a length of 20-21" long so not a large eel but can and will consume crustaceans and any small, slow moving fish in the tank. What a great find. If you decide to get it, I'd love to see pics.

Well, I had a jeweled eel and he became nasty when he was a big boy.

The fish store has had him for 2 weeks. I may stop by tomorrow and notice what fish they are housing him with now. I have no fish in my tank yet, but it may be a good idea to get this guy FIRST and add a couple...less expensive of my list to see how he reacts.

I cant help you on that one but I did recently bought a snowflake eel and I`m looking forward to him in my FOWLR tank.

Snowflakes are always awesome eels. I've had a couple. I was hoping for something different this time around. I've had zebras, jeweled, and snowflakes. This brazilian dragon is definitely DIFFERENT -

http://www.atlantisaquarium.net/images/DSCN4121.JPG