Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2011, 06:40 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Clownfish767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 124
I think its from phosphorus in your tap water... The turbo snails will still eat it so they will help. If they fall over they die so if you ever see one on its back flip it over haha. For now i would just be doing water changes constantly, and buy some turbos until your filter comes in.
__________________

__________________
Clownfish767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 06:45 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
Yea that's what I figured my only question is how much of a water change do I do with the ro water. Would 50% be ok then a day or 2 later do another 50% .
__________________

__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 06:45 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Clownfish767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 124
And once you get the filter i would just do a 50% water change when you get it then regular water changes weekly after.
__________________
Clownfish767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 06:46 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Clownfish767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 124
If the algae is still growing fast 2 days after the 50% change do another if not problem solved
__________________
Clownfish767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:57 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
K thanks. It doesn't arrive till Friday so we will see this weekend as for now I'm just keeping the lights off.
__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I would do some larger than normal pwc's for the first while it will help. as with all new tanks you end up with the brown stuff, I've got it in my cube already too.

it's usually better to solve a problem rather than putting in a bandaid like CUC. I would recommend some crew though if you don't already have some.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 04:14 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brantford, Ont, Can
Posts: 123
You should be testing your water to see what is causing the algae..Since the tank is only 2 months old it could be a diatom. I have that happening in my tank right now as my tank is about 5 weeks old.. My reading says that a diatom will go away as fast as it came you just have to give it a bit of time.. High nitrates and phosphates will cause algae problems.. Ive read that over the first year or so you are gonna get algae outbreaks now and then its all part of the tank maturing.. The R/O will definitely help.. How long do you run your lights every day? Shortening your lighting schedule will help too, I run my 10,000K for 8hrs a day and my actinic for 10Hrs a day..

Shane.
__________________
Porkys are great, If it can fit in it's mouth, it will eat it. If it cant fit, it will constantly try to make it fit.
amdninjaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 04:41 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
As of right now I'm keeping my lights off I was keeping them on for 10-12hrs a day but as soon as I noticed the brown algea break out I turned all lights off I might have it on for 2-3hrs a day now I don't want it to get out of control. I'm pretty sure it's from my tap water. I don't have a tds meter so I'm not 100% and my tank is cycled I didn't use any base rock all live rock ( premium) with nice coraline algea on it. Fiji rock to be exact. My readings are ammonia 0 nitrite 0 nitrate .5.
__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 02:14 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
The probable reason that your FW tank doesn't have algae and your SW does is due to the plants. The plants are taking up all the nutrients so algae isnt getting a chance to grow.
__________________

__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brown algea Michellej Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-17-2005 02:40 PM
brown algea morgan24 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-15-2005 06:33 AM
coraline algea vs. brown algea PiscesLou Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-02-2004 07:48 PM
Annoying green algea and brown algea robbber Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-20-2004 11:46 AM
Green Algea & Soft Brown Algea overgrowth! elinkuge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-23-2004 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.