Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2008, 02:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cleethorpes
Posts: 115
brown algea problems

hi guys again, as i said in a thread the other day i had a diotom problem, well i think its more of a cyrano problem but its brown not red. my levels are phos 0.1ppm so is the RO/DI water so there is something wrong with my ROunit, its only 2 months old. Nitrates are 10ppm. just reading meluso58 link about problem algea, iam doing most of the points he said. but about cutting back the lights, i have recently added a pulse xenia and a mushroom coarl. my question is would it cause to many problems to the coarls if i did cut back the lighting.
__________________

__________________
will8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:12 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
No....Your corals will be just fine with cutting back the lighting. What kind of lights do you have on the tank?

If you are getting a phosphate reading after the water goes through your RO/DI unit there is something wrong or you have Extremely high phosphates in your water. Test your tap water see what you get there. You may want to change out the DI part of your filter.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:38 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
What kind of lighting schedule are you keeping right now?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cleethorpes
Posts: 115
i have 4x 54w t5s. one blue and three whites. they come on at 10.30am and turn off at 9.30pm. what time schedule do you suggest?
do you mean change the resin out of the DI part of the RO unit?
i will go and test the tap water now while i make a cup of tea.
__________________
will8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cleethorpes
Posts: 115
just tested the tap water for phoshates, it was 0.5-0.6ppm. forgot to say i have a reactor with rowaphos, even with that it still measures 0.1ppm.
__________________
will8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 208
You cant test 1 batch from any source. It could take time for levels to rise and become noticable. If your useing an RO/DI unit then i dought this is the source. Sounds like another source from water change amount or time scedule. To overstocking or over feeding to flow amount or placement or LR amount and placement to your CUC. My guess its atleast 2 of the above.

Tanks size and age?
All equipment used from skimmers to powerheads?
All or most of your stock from CUC to coral?
Type of food and amount fead?
Is the tank covered or by a window or vent or a small room?
__________________
lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 03:06 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Cut your lights down to 4 hours a day max. You choose the time (morning or evening).

Have you tested your RODI water for phosphates, or just the tap? If the tap water is .5 and after the RODI you are still reading .1 then change out the DI cartridge, run a few gallons and test again.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 04:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cleethorpes
Posts: 115
here is the list lance, 100ukgallon tank 3.5 months old
instant ocean skimm 800, hydor koralia 3, maxi jet 400litres
per hour power head, rena xp3 filter, reactor with rowaphos.
livestock, 2 common clowns, coarl beauty, flame angel, humbug damsel, pbt,royal gramma, 12 turbo snails 8 other snails not sure which ones,2 cleaner shrimps, blood shrimp, marbled sea serpant, arrow crab, brittle worm, 2 blue knuckled hermits. and finally pusle xenia and a green mushroom.
feed them frozen brine shrimp with garlic and pellets every other day and live mysis, brine when i visit lfs, and half a sheet of nori every day. tank is half covered with a lid, not near a window or vent but is next to a small room, what does this matter?
think that it.
__________________
will8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 12:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 208
In a 100 gallon you want an exchange around 2000 gph but your stocked so i would do atleast 2500 gph. You want a good constant circulation. The flow helps your bacteria population.

Covering the top even halfway means less gas exchange at the surface and less oxygen in the tank, Your LR and LS will help convert nitrate and ammonia into nitrogen then this leaves at the surface.

Whene you feed next add some extra and whatch how it floats.It should stay suspended and not drop or just hang. Then feeding less amounts more often with 5 or 6 types would be better for the fish diet.

A 2 month tank with so many fish means that your bacteria population isnt large enough to handle all this and then will slow there growth down.

If the tank is in a small room thats inclosed you could get higher amounts of carbon monixcide , Spelled wrong , .

I would increase the flow do weekly 25% water changes and cut back on the light a little and remove any cover and you should see a differance.
__________________
lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 01:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cleethorpes
Posts: 115
thanks lance, will get another koralia power head, and do some changes you pointed out and see what happens. thank again.
__________________

__________________
will8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brown Algea mandown123 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 03-22-2008 12:00 PM
Brown Algea? spittinfly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-01-2007 08:15 AM
coraline algea vs. brown algea PiscesLou Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-02-2004 07:48 PM
Annoying green algea and brown algea robbber Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-20-2004 11:46 AM
Green Algea & Soft Brown Algea overgrowth! elinkuge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-23-2004 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.