Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2006, 10:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 14
calcium tests?

Good day! I regularly check my water parameters, although NOT the calcium levels. I want to get the most coraline algae growth from my 60#'s of live rock... is using only the "purple up" ok? or should i also purchase a calcium test kit which seem to be pretty $$$ and add calcium accordingly?? I do not have corals.
__________________

__________________
momzacmarvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 12:50 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Do you have and LFS that can test calcium for you? Calcium levels should be over 400 ppm, preferably higher for good coraline growth. Most salt mixtures will bring your calcium levels up to that amount. With no corals in your tank, your calcium level should stay reasonably the same.

If not, you can find calcium kits online for rather cheap.
__________________

__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 01:01 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with DT as to getting the LFS to check it out. Calcium is a must if you had corals. For the corraline you should have enough by doing regular PWC. BUT I`ve seen on this website that some types of salt have been falling short of calcium levels. Testing is a must one way or another.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what tests should i have m-man Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 08-09-2006 12:36 AM
Alkalinity and Calcium HIGH Calcium reactor not hooked up ye doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-29-2005 01:35 PM
Tests LIMentality420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-28-2005 12:53 AM
Still have to dose calcium with a calcium reactor? limitup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-08-2004 09:48 AM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.