Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-09-2012, 03:21 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
rilesjr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
I used pure di water I work at a power plant and we have a water treatment dept so I have lots of di water. Put in live sand and live rock from an established tank. But already put a raw shrimp in 2 days ago gonna test when I get home. Also buying a new tank for my QT after work how do I cycle that and what do I need as far as equipment for it I have read sponge filter no light, sand, or live rock just a PVC elbow and saltwater how does it cycle with nothing in it? Helpppp pls.
__________________

__________________
rilesjr44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:23 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I didn't tell you you were wrong. Ever. I did what you stated this forum is for: giving advice and ipinions. What do you mean let it do it's thing??? If you did that with normal rock you would en up with a bunch of deaf fish. You need to cycle. Once ammonia and nitrite rise and fall to 0 and you get nitrates at <10, you can add a fish a week. It cycles with nothin in it be
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I just think that your comment jumped the gun on his purpose of posting. He told us significant info after I asked the questions. His sand and rock came from an established tank is how he answered. At that point in the game, even if the rock didn't get transported wet, he will be good regardless without the shrimp. If the rock and sand was kept wet, no he wouldn't need a shrimp because most likely the BB that converts the ammonia and nitrates is present. If the rock was "dead", then the die off will help kick start the ammonia spike. And that's what I meant by do its thing. It worked for me, in a very similar situation to this one, which is why I replied to the thread in the first place. Crister I no doubt have used your advice before I appreciate it, I'm just saying its hard to tell someone to dump a shrimp in their tank without knowing all the very relevant facts first.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Im sorry I didn't mean to come off as harsh at all. I would still do the shrimp just a a protective measure, only my opinion though. Just to be safe.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:59 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benamayer
If the rock and sand was kept wet, no he wouldn't need a shrimp because most likely the BB that converts the ammonia and nitrates is present.
'Most likely' are key words here.

I agree with crister on this one. Just because the rock and sand came from an established tank does not mean its good to go. Some die off occurs during transport also a lot of die off can occur if exposed for a mere half hour.

It worked for you but it does not work like that every time. Adding inverts now could ultimately result in their death. Also if you do it like you suggested you will end up with a relatively weak biological filter. BB colonies will shrink to if there is not a significant and constant ammonia source. This means when adding the first fish or two you could experience a spike.

Using the shrimp method or dosing ammonia is your best bet. There is no guarantee with the method you support.

To the OP, your cycle has not even started. Hence why you do not have any nitrates. Likely since your rock and sand came from an established tank you will not have much of a cycle depending in how the rock and sand was transported and how long it was out of water. But you will still have a cycle of some size. My advice would be to dose ammonia to a few ppm and let it cycle it into nitrates before adding anything. After ammonia and nitrite are 0, do a water change to get nitrates < 10ppm and add your first fish.

If your biofilter is established enough the ammonia should convert very rapidly, within a few days max.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:06 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
rilesjr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
My live rock was out of water for an hour. Still no trates also no ammonia and the shrimp has been in for 3 days when will it spike and start the cycle. Hurry up and wait rite lol everyone on here is giving me great advice and I really appreciate that. How about a qt tank getting one in the AM what do I need and how do I cycle it. Here's some pics of my aqua scape.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2654078310.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	111604  
__________________
rilesjr44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:10 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilesjr44
My live rock was out of water for an hour. Still no trates also no ammonia and the shrimp has been in for 3 days when will it spike and start the cycle. Hurry up and wait rite lol everyone on here is giving me great advice and I really appreciate that. How about a qt tank getting one in the AM what do I need and how do I cycle it. Here's some pics of my aqua scape.
An hour out of water will experience a good amount of die off. You should see ammonia start to rise in a few days or less. And yes patience is key in this hobby, only bad things happen fast.

No need to cycle a QT tank. Simply put a sponge or other bio media in your displays filter that will have the beneficial bacteria grow on it and when you put a fish in your QT tank you simply pit the sponge or bio media in the QT tank and its ready to go.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
See, I'm going to unsubscribe from this particular thread, I value what you have always said in these threads Schism, and I've followed your advice as well, but if the rock was transported damp, there really wouldn't be that much die off, but then again that question wasn't asked... That's my only issue with this thread and it's making me think how many people's questions are answered without getting the right facts first...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:19 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilesjr44
My live rock was out of water for an hour.
I believe thats answered the question. I think your jumping to conclusions when you assume there was not die-off from an hour out of water.

My advice is the safe way go. No reason to risk throwing things in without a cycle, and since rock was out of water an hour there will be die-off, even with wet newspaper like your assuming.

Im sorry if ive said something that rubbed you the wrong way. No offense meant and none taken.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Thats the exact reason I said to add an ammonia source. You need to double check.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.