Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2012, 09:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
rilesjr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Can i be cycled alread

He everyone so I'm on day 4 of my cycle with 65 pounds of live rock from a buddies tank and about 15 of real good rock from my lps this isy second test I believe I need my nitrate higher but my looks good 0 ammonia I think can't tell the colors and 0 nitrite any help would be awesome pic I below and threw another one in cause my gf tolde I was a dork cause of my mini lab lol.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2539483881.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	116.5 KB
ID:	111099   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-785467194.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	111100  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-131654235.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	111101  
__________________

__________________
rilesjr44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Well.... Did you add an ammonia source? Did the levels spike?!?!?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
rilesjr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Did not add anything thought u only did that to speed things up what would I put in?
__________________
rilesjr44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Well you need an ammonia source to actually cycle the tank. If its jus saltwater, your params should be 0,0,0. You need to add a frozen shrimp to the tank. Just put it in a net and into the tank. Once the ammonia and nitrite rise and then fall to 0 and nitrate rises you have to do a water change to get nitrates under 10. Then you'll be cycled.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
rilesjr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Ok awesome bro thank you so once it's cycled is that when I put in my cleaning crew and if so what should I start with. Oh yeah how many shrimp should I put in lol
__________________
rilesjr44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
What size tank is this??? One shrimp should do. If you want put 2 in. I would add the CUC after you get a fish or two so they have something to clean up. If there's not algae, algae eating critters will starve, I'd they eat detritus, and there is none, they'll starve, so add them after you have some stuff for them to clean. Any other questions?? I'm happy to help!!!
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Just a side note, I found that my API saltwater test kit was a little inaccurate. I would a sample to your LFS to make sure
__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Did you use RODI to fill the tank? Is it live sand? If so, i say skip the shrimp and add a couple hermit crabs. I did a similar thing here. Live sand and live rock from an established tank. I added a small CUC and it cycled itself without seeing a huge spike in ammonia. The existing bacteria in the sand and rocks took care of the ammonia produced, I never even saw a spike in nitrites. And then there were my nitrates. My clowns got added, a bigger CUC, everyone's been happy since.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I really wouldn't risk it. You're wasting your money because you will likely have I do excess water changes to keep levels low so the inverts live. And live sand is wet sand f it's been sitting on the shelf for a long time. I would will make sure your cycled before you start throwing stuff in. Everything good that happens in this hobby happens slowly, so wait.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
In your opinion maybe. I know from my cycle, and this is what happened to me. Why does he need to add a source of ammonia? His tank can do its thing, he said that he added rock from his buddies tank. I think he needs to answer the questions before you start knocking my answers. This whole forum is for people to share experiences and opinions. Don't tell me I'm wrong if it worked for me thanks
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.