Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2010, 03:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
2 questions ( just edited )

sorry i couldnt find a straight answer after hour of searching. i have 2 fw tanks that are good to go and fishless cycling a sw. can i pull the filter from a fw tank and shake or lay it in a sw tank to seed it and then put it back in the fw? Also, ive only been cycling the tank for 3 days ( i know i still got 5 weeks till i can put anything alive in it) but how long should i expect until i start to see algae growing in it so i know when i should start thinking about my clean up crew?
__________________

__________________
Cholbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
No you wont be able to seed a Sw tank with FW bacteria. They are different. You`ll need to get something that`s from a SW tank to seed. BTW welcome to AA.

as far as the clean up crew "do not" add any livestock to the tank till the cycle is over.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Welcome to AA Remember that your cycle will not take a set amount of time. It could take 2 weeks or 2 months. The only way you'll know it is cycled is when your ammonia spikes then drops, nitrite spikes then drops, and nitrates show up with both ammonia and nitrite being 0.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
ya i have 2 other tanks that are cycled. i would never put another fish in an uncycled tank ever again after all the death learning with my first tank. ( cycled with goldfish ). any idea when i will start to see algae? and after my tank is cycled how much algae needs to be in there so cuc dont starve?
__________________
Cholbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
and its funny but i can sit here and look at my empty sw tank and almost take all my cichlids to the lfs and turn all my tanks sw. gives me somthing to do lol. other tanks are completely finished and nothing ever goes wrong in them so i can nothing to do but water changes. gets boring when somthing doesnt go wrong or ur not building somthing thats gonna look great in the end. mabey ill sell them and start all over lol
__________________
Cholbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:56 PM   #6
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Don't worry, once your tank is cycled and on it's way to becoming mature, you will have a lot more to worry about then just water changes. In a good way of course.

As for your algae question, you will start to see algae growth towards the end of your cycle. I started seeing green patches when i still had a small reading of nitrite, and when you have no ammonia and little nitrites, that's when your cycle is coming to a close. But i'm glad you have patience because you'll need a lot of it when it comes to saltwater.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 06:02 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I personally would not want algea in the tank. I dont care when it is. When your cycle is over then add a small clean up crew.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 10:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
I had gravel from a 1.008 BW tank work for instant cycling a FW....
__________________
Kungpaoshizi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 11:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
brackish tanks have the same type of bacteria that full saltwater tanks need... fw bacteria wont live in saltwater, which is why when converting from fw to bw, you have to do it very slow both for the fish, and so that a new cycle can begin with the bw and not force a full on cycle
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 11:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Isn't the only difference in bacteria though the inclusion of the nitrococcus in SW/BW? So the other 3 are the same?
__________________

__________________
Kungpaoshizi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, seed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to "seed" new filter with bacteria hortoholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 01-23-2010 04:10 PM
Time needed to seed and aquarium with old filter media? hc8719 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 05-06-2007 01:47 AM
? about seed material annielauri Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 01-31-2007 09:55 PM
How long to seed a new filter? sudz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 01-19-2007 08:53 AM
How to seed QT tank Todd2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 10-12-2004 01:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.