Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2003, 08:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 158
Can I setup a 30 gal long without live rock?

Looking for opinions on setting up a 30L with only using a couple of lbs. of LR. It will house a Maroon clown, Mandarin goby, Coral beauty some crabs and snails.

I will have a sand bed, 2 PH's, a power filter and a protein skimmer. Is this a managable setup?
__________________

__________________
skip_16157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 08:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
You can always do without LR, but it is a good thing to have. Will the sand bed be live?

Can you get some dead rock.

I think it would be fine, but LR is always a good thing.
__________________

__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 08:53 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
You would probably be best off with some form of external filtration on a setup like that as the main purpose of the LR is to act as a bio filter.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 09:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 158
Yes, the sand will be live.

What kind of external filtration would you recommend?
I do not have room for a sump.
__________________
skip_16157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 09:24 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
I have a 29 with very little live rock with a DSB that works. The sand bed critters will process a lot of waste. The sand bed will house sufficient quantities of nitrifying bacteria to get the job done. It may take a little longer to cycle (that's been my experience). I've kept a porcupine puffer (a very messy fish) in the 29 for over a year now. It still has the same amount of LR as seen in this pic http://home.attbi.com/~anemoneman2/pork_tank1.jpg
You will need an efficient protein skimmer. I recently added a refugium to this tank to lower nutrients (bit of a cyano outbreak) and have gone through a major hair algae outbreak. It may be little more work to keep algae in control IME but it can be done. I think it would be possible to have a tank with no LR and only a DSB.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 09:31 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
That mandarin goby will want rocks, full of copepods that never run out....wont live without it.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 09:38 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Will need to be a mature sandbed for the Goby too. Possibly would be a good application for a fuge like Mark said. That would help keep the pod population up. I don't know if there is a minimum size tank in which the sandbed would keep a mandarin fed though...the fuge should offset the tank size if you chose to use one.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
A fuge will most likely be needed to encourage pod life, for the Mandarin.
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 09:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 158
I think I will be skipping on the goby, since I know I won't have a sufficient DSB for a while.

I definitely do not have room for a refugium. There is just no room for a seperate tank.

How do I get copepods in my tank. I have a 55 thats been up for 5 months with a DSB and 50lbs of LR. I don't believe I have any in this tank. Does anyone have a Pic. Is there a setup that will work to produce copepods without using a refugium.

I intend for my tank to look like Anemoneman's 29.

Thanks
__________________
skip_16157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 10:01 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Are you seeing worm trails and bubbles against the glass in the dand bed of the 55? If not you need to get a detrivore kit ASAP. If you do have worm trails and can see worm tentacles on the surface, then use a couple cups of this sand to seed the bed of your new tank. These are the critters that stir the bed and process waste. Look at the surface of your existing DSB with a strong magnifying glass (about 7X) and you may be able to see some bugs. Look where algae is growing or where a rock is next to the glass. They don't like being in the open but you may still find them there.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live rock, long, rock, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base rock/Live rock setup - Help please GuOD Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 11-13-2006 12:51 AM
live rock setup pelochas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-20-2005 08:10 PM
how long until my live rock grows somthing?? becka Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 02-10-2005 12:14 PM
Setup of my live rock? BONESTOCK Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 02-05-2004 11:20 AM
Curing Live Rock, How Long? Polecat Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 08-18-2003 11:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.