Can I use real sea shells in my salt water tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aquarius75

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello, I am new here. I am also a rookie salt water aquarium owner. So my first of MANY questions is.....Can I put real sea shells in my newly started aquarium? It is a freshwater converted over to salt. It is a 30 gallon. It has so far been right on with the salt levels. There is live rock and sand. It has been running for about two days now. So as you can see we are in the baby stages. My husband brought home real sea shells last summer n they have been sitting in my closet until now. I would like to use some but need to know If I can, how many, and how to clean them if so? Whew!!
Thank you so very much n I hope yall have a great day. Evening.

First of all welcome to AA. Secondly it really wont harm anything but one slight problem I see is that they will trap fish waste and uneaten food causing high excessive nutrients in your tank which in turn will cause nuisance algea to flourish in your tank. I thought it was worth mentioning.

I had some from my homeland, Peurto Rico in my tank. I would make sure they are genuine shells that haven't been lacquered or treated to preserve them for sale. If they are 100% from the ocean to your hand, rinse them thoroughly in fresh water and drop them in and enjoy. As usual, Melo makes a great point that they will trap junk, but I had hermits who would happily turn them over daily and pluck out the junk. Face them down if you can to avoid that issue, but be ready if you have hermits to see them turned over daily. :)