Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2006, 02:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tamaqua, PA
Posts: 29
change from a small tank to a larger tank

Currently I have a 75 gal tank and I would like to switch to a 120gal or 150 gal tank.. but the problem I run into is limited space in my home. I was hoping people could give me some idea on how to save the fish in the current tank until the new tank is setup. I would also like to be able to keep all my current live rock(about 50 including base rock lbs)

Would it be best to start a small 10 gal tank for the fish I would like to keep, and just drain enough water to move the old tank to a different location with the live rock still in the tank until the new tank is ready?


Any suggestions or advice would be very much appreciated.


Thanks in advance,
__________________

__________________
ph34r3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 07:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
You can do it all in one day if you plan ahead. You will need several 25gal rubbermaid tubs and 5gal buckets. Make sure you have plenty of aged SW on hand to make up the difference. Move the fish and as much water as you can to the tubs along with the LR. Put in a heater and powerhead for the day. Move the substrate to 5gal buckets and keep it wet. Discard the mirky dirty water in bottom of the tank. remove the old tank and set up the new one. Add new substrate to the bottom and cycled substrate on top of that. Add water and let settle for a while. Add the rock, rest of the water and fish. See if you can get your hands on a couple canister filters to help clear the water faster. It is a long day so plan 10-12hrs for the move. It took me about 9 to chnge out my 38gal to a 72gal with a sump.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 10:56 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Lando got it. I would be leary of moving a tank with water in it, unless you could support the whole bottom somehow
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 12:05 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Lando has the plan
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 05:41 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tamaqua, PA
Posts: 29
ok.. I coudl handle that.. that wouldn't be too hard.. but what about the cycling of the new tank? I won't be using the same filtering system(forgot to mention that it will be a completely new setup.. pretty much from the start again).. will I still need to go through the whole cycle bit?
__________________
ph34r3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 01:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
If you are using the same substrate and LR you should be okay. Adding ore cured LR will also help. It is possible that you will experince a Mini-cycle from the disruption of the biofilter so have plenty of aged SW on hand to do water changes if needed. Test often for the first couple of weeks and avoid adding any new livestock to the tank at first.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 03:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
IMO, don't use the old substrate. When you move it, all this nasty detrius comes up. I just upgraded from 29G to 75G and i moved the substrate. Lots of detrius came to the surface of the sandbed and flew everywhere when i turned on my pumps.
__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 07:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
That is a good point, however, if you discard the dirty water from the substrate bed (as I mentioned) and rinse the substrate lightly in tank water you should be fine. No sense throwing out all that cycled substrate unles you are thinking of change media (swithcing LS for CC for example). I would be very leary of usin all new subsrate without cycling the tank first.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 08:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So California
Posts: 209
I am in the same situation.

My plan is to use my current 37gal as a fuge and keep the cycled substrate in the 37 and add mixture of sand and live sand into the new 75g.

If I can not fit the 37 under the cabinate, I am going to transfer the cycled substrate into an extra 10g that will become the fuge.

I figure this way, you get the best of both worlds.
__________________

__________________
60gal reef in progress
75lbs Live Rock
40lbs Live Rock
AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
Marineland penguin HOB Filter
4x65w PCF

FISH
1 - Percula, 1 - Blue-Yellowtail Damsel, 3 - Green reef Chromis

Inverts
Rose Annenome; Anchor Coral
john0087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, small tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I will get that larger tank.. jm667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-13-2009 03:29 PM
Transfering extisting tank into a new larger tank (longish) john0087 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-01-2006 05:59 PM
2 small filters or 1 larger one advice needed rsctang Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-04-2005 01:08 AM
Upgrading to larger tank msuburg Nano Reefs 7 08-03-2004 08:41 AM
Looking for a larger tank aimeovaldi Archive 1 05-02-2003 02:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.