Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2012, 02:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Changing substrate

So I've been battling nitrates for a little bit and I've done everything including checking equipment etc. I really think its my substrate! For over a week now I've only had one clown and 3 shrimp in my tank that is over two years old. It has live rock as well. I've changed all filter pads and cleaned all equipment (tank is 56 gallons). I use RO water and I've only been feeding my clown 1x every other day. I do have a protein skimmer that works. I really have been wanting to change my sand out for a while anyway. Will it cycle again? How can I do this and make sure my live rock, clown, and shrimp are ok?
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 08:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Pryzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 182
I'd say remove fish and shrimp, put in a bucket or something, same with live rock, power heads and heaters depending on how long it will take to change. You don't clean your substrate? Not sure about if it will cycle again.
__________________

__________________
Pryzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki_kaiser
So I've been battling nitrates for a little bit and I've done everything including checking equipment etc. I really think its my substrate! For over a week now I've only had one clown and 3 shrimp in my tank that is over two years old. It has live rock as well. I've changed all filter pads and cleaned all equipment (tank is 56 gallons). I use RO water and I've only been feeding my clown 1x every other day. I do have a protein skimmer that works. I really have been wanting to change my sand out for a while anyway. Will it cycle again? How can I do this and make sure my live rock, clown, and shrimp are ok?
Unsure why you think your sand is the problem, but do not replace with live sand, doing so probably would cause a significant ammonia spike and cause problems.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
What are your trates testing at? How often are you doing PWC's and how much?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I do clean it but it's fairly deep and I had read that this can harbor things that can hurt your water quality if you stir it up to much. I really want a lot less...like maybe an inch thick. Right now I think I have close to 3.5 inches! My hubby put in the sand initially and went a little overboard. I'm just afraid that it will cycle again. I may set up my 20 gallon and put my shrimp and fish, some of the live rock in just incase. If I get a large tub and put the rest of the live rock in there with a power head for a week will it die off?
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I hope you solve the issue. I'll be following along as I have a 3" and in some places 4" sand bed in my bio cube 29 that's almost 9 months old and I haven't had issues as of yet.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I do a 15-20% water change a week. I need to look at my log and see what it was two nights ago when I did a water change. My phosphates were up a little as well. It's been like this for about 5 weeks. I've cut down on feeding and I almost feel like I'm starving them. I've never had this issue in this tank or the larger tank I had years ago. Since I've done most everything that I've read up on and read here, this is the only thing I can think of that might be the issue.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
What are your nitrates testing at? And how much do they decrease after a pwc?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I sound like someone who has just recently decided to have a SW tank. I've had tanks on and off since I was in college but I've never had the issues I've had with this one. I'm about to have a freakin priest come and bless this thing! I feel like its cursed! LOL!
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Ok, before the last water change, nitrates tested at 5.0 my phosphates were .25 . After I did the water change (did about 25%) they looked to be 0. Problem is, in another day, they wont be 0. It's a pattern and I don't know what else it could be.
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.