Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
choose between these skimmers

I need to buy a skimmer for my first setup, which is gonna be a 30gallon long tank (I know this is a smaller tank for a SW setup...but I need to keep it inexpensive since it's my first attempt). This tank will start as FOWLR, but I plan to add corals after a few months (once i have the fish care and water changes down). I'll put 2x96w PC's over the tank, with the shallow depth that should be enough light for inverts...right?

Anyhow...I was gonna get a SeaClone 100, but i'm hearing they are no good. Everyone says "get a Prizm".

They also say the AquaC Remora is good, but all the online sites for those are $160+ (big al's doesn't carry em).

Post you opinions.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 03:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Quick update - just brought home a 40 gallon breeder...if that has any bearing upon your reply to my question
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 03:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
That should be plenty light for anything you might want to add later.

Everyone here will tell you to get the Remora and that the Prizm is useless, but since you're on a tight budget I'm gonna suggest a Prizm Pro. We don't seem to get the Remoras here in UK and I'm sure it's a very good skimmer, but I personally have had good luck with a Prizm and it's a fraction of the price.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
I use a Sea Clone skimmer. Once you get it dialed in it works just fine. Mine continues to make "coffee" on a regular basis. The only time it's not making "coffee" is after I clean it and it akes about a week to get it all set to go again. Usually I just dump the cup. Every 2 months I clean it completely.

Hope this helps. I really think that most people don't like the Sea Clone because it is so difficult to dial it in. Once it's set, it seems to work just like the rest. It is cheaper than most, that may be the reason also. But if you are on a budget and you got the time to play with the settings, it will work.

Mike
__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 06:33 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
The Remora is far superior to either the Seaclone or the Prizm. The reason you always find it for about the same price is that Aqua C enforces their retail pricing. You can sell it for more, but not less. My experience with Seaclones is, as mentioned above, they are diffcult to dial in and I don't like the fact that they have plumbing with connectors outside the tank...recipe for a leak someday. My experience with the Prizm Pro is that it is also difficult to adjust, requires frequent adjustment, and is prone to put water in the floor from the seal on the collection cup. My first choice, obviously, is the Remora. Second would be a Prizm. Seaclone would be last. The regular Prizm doesn't seem to suffer from the adjustment problems of the Pro, but a 40 gal tank is a bit too large for it IMO.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:57 AM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Go with the remora. You will not be sorry!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 07:23 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Quote:
I don't like the fact that they have plumbing with connectors outside the tank...recipe for a leak someday.
Exactly...Word of warning, any skimmer like Jebo & Seaclone with airline intake will clog up and flood in time, what happens is without the air pressure, water is pumped straight up into the cup at a high rate, then overflows out the back and your tank will lose 3-4in of water onto the floor...happened to me 3 times in 5 months and a soaking wet floor is no fun mate. I would not consider one unless going into a sump where it can leak all it wants!
__________________
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 10:53 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Ok, so I'm leaning towards the Prizm line. I know someone said the normal prizm wasn't big enough for a 40g breeder, but it says it's good for 100gallons.

Is the prizm pretty reliable? I don't mine having to retweak it after a cleaning...but the cheapest prizm pro is $155 at big al's.
I know SW isn't cheap...but knowing LR is gonna be $5-$6 a pound, and that I need 30-40 lbs...and my lights will push $200 for ballast & bulbs...

I'm just trying to get what I need, and not go overboard on the 'best' equipment, when there's fully functional, safe, equipment for a lesser price.
If the prizm won't leak liek the sea clone and JBJ...then that's what I need. So does prizm leak the same way due to plumbing? cuz i won't have a sump/refugiem for a while.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 11:02 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Sorry I meant Prizm Deluxe not pro... and no it's never leaked for me.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 11:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
I have a Prizm Delux and it does take some time to tweak. Once it has ran in, it should do the job. Although I found the surface skimmer that comes with the delux is absolutely useless.
__________________

__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me choose! zombie2k Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-09-2008 03:12 PM
Skimmers...which one to choose for 90 gallon WhiteCloud Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-26-2006 08:52 AM
How to Choose???? bksterling Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 03-09-2005 10:29 AM
Which would you choose.... ReefNooB Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 01-20-2005 11:16 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.