Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-13-2004, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

choose between these skimmers

I need to buy a skimmer for my first setup, which is gonna be a 30gallon long tank (I know this is a smaller tank for a SW setup...but I need to keep it inexpensive since it's my first attempt). This tank will start as FOWLR, but I plan to add corals after a few months (once i have the fish care and water changes down). I'll put 2x96w PC's over the tank, with the shallow depth that should be enough light for inverts...right?

Anyhow...I was gonna get a SeaClone 100, but i'm hearing they are no good. Everyone says "get a Prizm".

They also say the AquaC Remora is good, but all the online sites for those are $160+ (big al's doesn't carry em).

Post you opinions.

Old 06-13-2004, 03:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quick update - just brought home a 40 gallon breeder...if that has any bearing upon your reply to my question

Old 06-13-2004, 03:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

That should be plenty light for anything you might want to add later.

Everyone here will tell you to get the Remora and that the Prizm is useless, but since you're on a tight budget I'm gonna suggest a Prizm Pro. We don't seem to get the Remoras here in UK and I'm sure it's a very good skimmer, but I personally have had good luck with a Prizm and it's a fraction of the price.

Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 05:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic