Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-20-2008, 02:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Cleanup crew suggestions

I'm just starting out into the world of saltwater and I would like a suggestion for what I will need for a cleanup crew in my tank. It will be a 40g/20g sump, I have 30 lbs of live sand and 30 lbs of cured live rock. How many snails/hermits and what types or what would you suggest? I live a very long distance away from the fish store (300 miles), so my plan is to get at least a partial cleanup crew just to start out, set it up and let the tank finish cycling or whatever it's going to do with the live rock/sand, then in a month or so get some more cleanup crew if needed, and a fish maybe, if all seems well by that time. Then later on, more fish, perhaps. No corals in this tank, I only have about 2 wpg of T12's (60 watts ODNO 2x) and I'm using well water with very high alkalinity, so corals are out, for now. Also, if there is no algae to eat at first, can I feed the cleanup crew algae wafers?

Old 09-20-2008, 02:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via AIM to HoCkEyGmC
you should wait to add any of the crew until the cycle is finished. many people stay away from hermits cuz they have a habbit of killing snails for their shells. some snails and a shrimp or 2 would be a nice start.

Old 09-20-2008, 02:36 PM   #3