Complete noob couple questions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlaseMrNiceguy

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm thinking of starting a fowlr tank with a 55 gallon tank and I was wondering if I could use a biowheel and a skimmer and be ok with filtration and all that? Also I have some kinda bottom of the line light fixtures and I was wondering of I could get away with just changing the bulbs out for now to a different type till I can afford a better lighting system? Also what else might I need I have kept multiple freshwater aquariums and am ready to take the leap into salt but not ready for coral.

I personally would scratch the actual wheel itself, but the filter is fine. Yes, you will want a skimmer- not needed at first, but as you add fish your bioload will increase it will be needed. Lighting isn't too important as long as its FOWLR. If you want a nem, or corals, you will need to upgrade.

You will also need powerheads or circulation... Anywhere from 20-50 times the amount of gallons the tank is per hour. If no corals, you should be good with a lower amount, but can't go wrong with more. I have 46 X flow in my 55 gallon FOWLR...

The bio wheel itself does 350 gph coil I just add another circulation pump and be ok?

Well the point is flow around the tank/rocks/etc, not just the GPH rating. The point is to keep all the detritus/poop/ nasty stuff suspended so the slimmer and filter can take care of it. Dead spots in the tank can be a safe haven for dead waste to sit there and decay. The 55's are long tanks... You should do one on each side pointing towards each other. I have 3 in my tank...

Ok that's make sense. How do I go about cycling a fowlr tank does the live rock just take care of it when I throw it in?