Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2011, 01:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
Confused !!!

Right now i have a 36 bow front fowlr. I just bought a 75 a couple days ago i have asked if it was ok to jus mix the 40 gl for the 75 and add the existing water in the 36 and just add it to the 75 . I was told i can do that and move over my filter without haveing to re cycle my tank . The point is that i go to the lfs and he tells me i have to do the whole cycle over
__________________

__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 01:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
I thought since my tank was cycled already i can jus add the new sand and new 40 gl along with my existing water
__________________

__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 01:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newtothis
I thought since my tank was cycled already i can jus add the new sand and new 40 gl along with my existing water
The bacteria created from the cycle isn't in the water, it's on the glass and surfaces
__________________
heyz0os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 01:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
The 35-40lbs of lr wouldnt b enough
__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newtothis
The 35-40lbs of lr wouldnt b enough
As stated you are going to need more rock, atleast 1 pound per gallon, 2 pounds if possible.
__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
Yea i plan i haveing the other 40 lbs when im ready to do the move whenever that is i
Have ppl telling me i can jus do the move jus make sure i have more lr
__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
I just wanna b sure of what im doing i dont wanna lose fish .
__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
I just went through this moving my 35 gallon tank to my new 65 gallon, I just started with all new sand and water, through in 80 lbs of cured rock and let it cycle. It took 12 days (I added supplemental bacteria) and once it was safe I moved all the rock and livestock from the 35 over, I acclimated them like new fish. Just mixing up the difference in water and moving everything is risky, why not cycle the new tank and just continue running the old, I kept the old tank going to use as a QT.
__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 09:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Well, the beneficial bacteria is on the sand, rocks and glass. Mostly in the filter though. The water doesn't have any beneficial bacteria from cycling and wouldn't make a difference if added to a new tank.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
squidward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: long island. new york.
Posts: 292
Thank you all for the advise. I went to a lfs that deals with mostly sw fish and they had told me it ahould really matter as long as i dont have anything delicate in there such as coral
__________________

__________________
squidward is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ok, I'm confused.. Gundy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 10-14-2007 11:52 AM
confused nickkk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 03-05-2007 11:19 AM
Very Very Confused bj5z25 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 06-30-2005 03:10 AM
I'm a little confused, can you help me ? ambulocetus Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 07-08-2004 02:03 PM
Confused?!..... Keepers_girl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 05-23-2004 10:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.