Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2015, 10:57 PM   #1
ejp
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ejp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Copper in display tank

Hi all iv been running copper in my dt for 3 weeks tank has live rock and sand haven't seen an ammonia spike how everyone said i would and fish are all doing better, eating ,swimming ect. My question is does anyone regularly use copper in their dt


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
ejp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:14 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Using copper based products is a huge no no. The copper leaches into the rocks and you won't be able to get it out. It will leach out into the tank, preventing you from keeping any invertebrates to include coral.
Treating for disease, be it with hypo salinity or copper based medication should only be done in a QT/hospital tank to prevent such from happening.

Edit: There is a product called Cupramine, I think how it is spelled, made by Seachem that reports being able to remove copper...but that isn't something that I would trust personally.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejp View Post
Hi all iv been running copper in my dt for 3 weeks tank has live rock and sand haven't seen an ammonia spike how everyone said i would and fish are all doing better, eating ,swimming ect. My question is does anyone regularly use copper in their dt


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
No, aquarists don't use copper in their systems. There's quite a few reasons for this.
  1. It binds with the calcium in live rock and sand and can be released at a later date
  2. It kills anything without a spine. This includes corals, clams, shrimp, and so on.
  3. Exposure to copper by fish is very harmful to them. This includes damaging gill tissue, liver, kidneys, nervous system, and weakening the immune system.
  4. Many fish can't tolerate any copper at all
  5. Copper inhibits the nitrogen cycle

In short, just like people advised against it for you; it wasn't a good idea. The same exact outcome could have been achieved by pulling the fish out and treating them in a QT tank with little to no risk.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 02:12 AM   #4
ejp
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ejp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Thank you all for your help


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
ejp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 11:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
Sniperhawk is right about the cupramine. I've emailed the techs at seachem and they told me using their matrix carbon and there cuprisorb you shoud be able to remove the copper from tanks
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:17 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedogz View Post
Sniperhawk is right about the cupramine. I've emailed the techs at seachem and they told me using their matrix carbon and there cuprisorb you shoud be able to remove the copper from tanks
SHOULD. But personally, that isn't something I'd ever want to bet on when the odds aren't in your favor with that much money into a tank.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedogz View Post
Sniperhawk is right about the cupramine. I've emailed the techs at seachem and they told me using their matrix carbon and there cuprisorb you shoud be able to remove the copper from tanks
it is also dependent upon what materials are in the tank as I imagine some will bind up the copper more than others, so any claims of completely removing copper should be taken with a grain of salt. I'm sure it will remove it from the water to undetectable levels, but it is what is bound by materials in the tank that is cause for concern.
One thing that can happen is if a rock has bound copper and a sessile invert is introduced, it will not be able to attach to the affected rocks and eventually they whither and die.

What were you using copper for?
If it was ich or oodinium (marine velvet) than you should opt for hypo-salinity treatment in the display tank.
if it was flukes or other parasites, than they should be quarantined.
now that you have used copper, you are kinda limited to strictly fish now.
__________________

__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display tank + frag tank= one sump? acolotto Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-11-2013 10:35 PM
Pods making it up to display tank from fuge luckycat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-14-2005 12:14 AM
Canary Blenny Just Went Into Display Tank SALTYDAWGY Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 05-07-2005 12:34 PM
Adding fish to display after only 1 week in Q tank jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 12-31-2004 10:47 AM
Fuge + Display Tank Question kidafius Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-02-2003 01:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.