Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Themonsterisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 206
Coraline growth

Have a bunch of cured base rock that used to be live and covered with coraline but had to shelve my SW addiction for a few years...everything bleached and now I'm using it again for my FOWLR tank and have a cured piece of live rock to seed the rest of the base rock...also have a bunch of turbo snails and hermits that have good amount of coraline on their shells...because the old rock bleached is it going to take forever to "seed" and start growth? It's been a month or so with no visible "seeding"...what is a typical timeframe to expect the rest of the rock to grow coraline?
__________________

__________________
Themonsterisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Coralline growth depends on how good your water quAlity is. It usually starts to show up after a couple of months when seeded into news systems.
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Themonsterisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 206
Thank you bribo
__________________
Themonsterisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
IME If you scrape your existing Coraline into your water column it will spread faster.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 01:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
VinnyLLU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 97
You can try that purple up stuff.. But I hear its just calcium in a bottle.
__________________
VinnyLLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 01:53 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
Purple Up will just through your levels out of whack. It's trash.

Take a toothbrush or old credit card and scratch at the coraline. That will help it spread. Like stated above, it will grow faster in systems with pristine water.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 02:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
VinnyLLU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 97
Yeah that's what I heard... It's garbage. Just stick with patience, good water quality and lighting.
__________________
VinnyLLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Proper alkalinity and calcium levels will cause it to spontaneously grow. Very little you need to do but get those values where they need to be and wait.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Themonsterisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 206
Thanks fellow aquarists...I have to get a test kit for calcium ...my DT is Fallow ATM because of a ich outbreak and for some reason I'm having nitrate and nitrite spikes...going to clean my canister filters and HOB skilter...also having trouble getting a copper reading in my hospital tank (30 gal Rubbermaid tote)...using a salifert copper test kit but it doesn't seem to register...have a small HOB filter with no carbon in it...I don't want to redose and kill my fish without a proper reading...argh
__________________
Themonsterisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 12:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Themonsterisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 206
Woke up this morning to a dead butterfly fish...copper isn't working...I'm stressing ...can't get a copper reading
__________________

__________________
Themonsterisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.