Corals on new LR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaycapz

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all

I just bought a small piece of LR for my newly cycled and setup 26 g bow front. I wasn't going to go with corals until down the road but now that I noticed baby coral growing on it, what is the requirements light wise? Any advice?

Thanks in advance.

Jay

I'm a noob, I wish I did. I can take a pic. It's purple, with little bumps. Sorry just took with my phone so it's a little blurry. It's real small. Kinda looks like a purple nipple lol.

There's also one with green bubbles on the other side of the rock. Can't get a shot of it.

Attachments

• image-3647806848.jpg
    image-3647806848.jpg
    147.1 KB · Views: 138
This is the best shot I can get. Those small brown things, are they aiptasia? They have a brown center, and clear like hairs.

The purple thing, no clue what that is. I've seen it come up into a mushroom once, then go back down.

Attachments

• image-4094063891.jpg
    image-4094063891.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 161
  • image-4031317412.jpg
    image-4031317412.jpg
    145.1 KB · Views: 115
I am getting the feeling I might be better off just returning this live rock. I took a closer look, and it is algae.

When I hit those little guys, the centers ball up. They don't retreat into the rock, they just clam up. Is that the normal behavior of aiptasia?

They were aiptasias. Returned the rock, luckily they took it back. Best comment was, "all the rocks have that". -Lfs worker.

Needless to say I won't be buying lr from them again.

They were aiptasias. Returned the rock, luckily they took it back. Best comment was, "all the rocks have that". -Lfs worker.

Needless to say I won't be buying lr from them again.