Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2012, 11:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
cupramine

i have had a problem with dieing fish so its been fishless for 5 weeks now.three days ago i put cupramine in there with like tripple the amount needed hopping to kill whatever is or was there.im only putting in a few dwarf lions and a leaf fish and fox face.so should i just wait a few more weeks to make sure this is dead.carbon takes out the cupramine so i should be good there
__________________

__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
You should wait another week or so but is this your dt.Is there rock and sand in there or is it bare.
__________________

__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Did you dump all this copper into your display tank? If you have any live rock or aragonite sand, they will absorb alot of the copper and slowly leach it back out. Tripling the dose more than likely killed off all the bacteria in the tank too. You are probably going to have to cycle the tank again and it won't be safe for any inverts because of the high dose of copper you applied.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
this is mt dt,no rock but the sand is there.cuprumine says carbon filters takes out all the meds.doesnt it get weaker with time anyway plus water changes
__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
i cant have any invertes anyway cause of the lions
__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:23 PM   #6
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Poly filters are much better at removing copper than carbon is. They turn blue as they pull out the copper. Being you put in such a large dose, it will take a very long time for all the copper to leach back out of the sand.
What are you using for filtration since you have no live rock? You will have to cycle the tank again.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
i have a emperor 400 and they have the blue filters with the carbon built in.never heard of poly filters
__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
so the copper killed all my good bacteria and i have to start from scratch?i never did a fishless cycle.i cant believe i have to start this all over again
__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
seachem makes cuprisorb specificly to remove copper and it can be regenerated. It will remove all the copper and allow you to put rock and inverts back in your tank just follow directions.
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 454
thanks ill look for that tomorrow,will i still have to cycle again.what if i check with my tester and everything is good will that mean im still cycled?
__________________

__________________
dwint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cupramine and gobies angnak Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 0 12-02-2011 07:01 PM
cupramine dwint Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 05-08-2011 08:44 PM
quarantine tank with cupramine solidsnakejv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-07-2009 08:30 PM
To Everyone with Cupramine Experience solidsnakejv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-04-2009 07:56 PM
Cupramine, Snails, and Alkalinity saffikeagan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 07-16-2008 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.