Cyano Bacteria Taking Over

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

heythereyou94

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys this may be in the wrong section, sorry if it is but its my first time here. I was just curious, I have a 65 gal FOWLR tank and i'm having a very bad problem with Cyano bacteria taking my tank over. I know its not necessarily bad for my tank but its an absolute eyesore. I don't overfeed, its not exposed to direct sunlight, and I only use T8s, I know its not recommended but I don't yet have the money for better lights. I think its because I don't use R/O water but I was just curious, if I use KENT Phosphate sponge, from now on only use R/O water for changes and make sure I still don't overfeed will this kill the cyao off or will I have to buy the Chemi-pure, along with doing all of what I jut listed in order to kill it off? Sorry for such a long message but there was a lot to explain. Thanks in advance guys.

Attachments

• 100_0784.jpg
    100_0784.jpg
    257.8 KB · Views: 177
I had the same problem on a tank I had just get some chemiclean from your LFS follow instructions and in a few days your tank will be looking great again

Using chemiclean or Chemi-pure is a quick fix until you can correct the problem. Old lights and high phosphates are some things to check for. IME every new system goes through it within the first year.

Makes sense

The idea that all new tanks go through it makes sense because its only been setup for about 6-8 months, also to either of you, do you think a t5 234 watt light would keep coral in a 65?

heythereyou94 said: